Stress management Assignment #22

One of my main outlets for my stress is exercise. I do play football and have that contributes to much of my health, but I like to also be active in other physical activities. One of the exercises that I enjoy other than football and weightlifting is golfing.
I have played football since I was in sixth grade. My dad has been a high school football coach since before I was even born so I guess it was destined for me to play football. Football has always been for me. The spring before my ninth grade year I started lifting weights. A close friend of mine and I would get picked up from the middle school, drive over to the high school and lift there. I had my dad there coaching me. Yes I was lifting for football but I also enjoyed it. I felt good lifting and always had my friends there with me so it was a time to connect with them.
When I got into high school I started all four years in football. I had a blast playing football in high school. Early in high school I was also playing baseball in the spring. After my freshman year I stopped because I had hurt my shoulder playing football and it kept me from playing comfortably anymore. I could still play football and play through the pain. I still continued to lift but then I switched to running track in the spring. As you can see I enjoy physical activities. I’m glad to this day that I switched sports because it kept me active and health.
Going into my senior year of high school, my close friend and another invited me to go play golf with them. I had never really been interested in golf but I gave it a try. Of course my first time out I played terribly. I couldn’t tee off with my driver because it bothered my shoulder (that still hadn’t been fixed…..yet). After that I started playing more just to goof off and have fun with my friends.
After my freshman year of college I finally got surgery on my shoulder. It was just bothering me too much. It kept me from playing sports, lifting and doing many daily activities, but it was worth it to stop the pain. After I got the surgery I could play football with less pain, do a lot more lifts, and even play golf without pain.
I think that all of the activities that I participate in help relieve my stress. While playing football I am exercising and while I’m playing the rest of the world is dead. Nothing else matters while I’m lifting or playing except for what I’m doing right now. These activities also are a part of my social network. It would have been so much harder coming into college not knowing anyone especially being from Georgia. It helped me deal with that stressor in making friends so I wasn’t wondering around with one to talk to. Some also say that golf is a stressor, but not for me. Golf is a very technical game and that causes lots of stress for most. I on the other hand know that I’m not very good so I just go out work on my tan and have fun goofing off with my buddies. I think that these exercises help me deal with stress and are keys to my health.

golfing

1 Response to “Stress management Assignment #22”


  1. 1 maconheikes May 16, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I also enjoy playing golf when im not playing my main sport baseball. its just eay to enjoy with your friends and you kind of get away from everything. Even when i dont play well i still enjoy trying to make shots and being outside.


Leave a comment




Authors