The stress of Lying

Someone has recently blogged about the stress of feeling guilt. This reminds me of lying. The smallest of fibs can cause a person to feel tremendously guilty and to really beat up on themselves. Even exaggerating something seems to come back and haunt my mind because I think about why I did it and if it was necessary. It usually isn’t. I think about pathological liars; those who obsessively lie as if it does not affect them. My mom and I joke constantly about this girl who I went to high school with. She was known, and not a good one. Whenever her sentences ended in “ask anyone, even ask my dad”, I knew instantaneously that it was a lie. I mean, no one was going to go out of our way to ask her dad about something completely outrageous. She never looked anyone in the eye either. She was always looking up or around during conversations. People who incorporate lying into their daily lives are interesting, though, because I think they start to believe their own stories. Have you ever met people who you really think believe that their lies are the truth? The more a person lies the easier it is to do. Convincing people that something is true means a repetition of the story. The more they hear about it and discuss it, the more intricate detail they add. Eventually, these people think their lies are the truth. Most people are offended that people don’t believe them. They dislike that someone thinks they are lying, although they are. Maybe some of you don’t understand what I am getting at because you don’t know people who are pathological liars. There must be some mental impairment which is causing them to forget the truth and believe lies.

This is a youtube clip of Dane Cook (the comedian) on lying. I have seen it a million times (this is a lie, more like 5) and can’t get enough of it!

4 Responses to “The stress of Lying”


  1. 1 klew23 May 15, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    This post made me laugh. I absolutly can’t stand liars. I have seen multiple people lie, and the outcome is never good. The people that have tendencies when they lie, like the girl you went to school with, must be stressed because they knowingly lie. I think lying may be a way for people like her to deal with stressful situations, so lying may give them relief for that particular moment.

  2. 2 alilogue May 16, 2011 at 12:23 am

    i honestly think that lying just gets you in more trouble. especially when you lie about somethin so stupid and get caught, thats when the stress comes out. it just isnt worth it, it gets you in more trouble.

  3. 3 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    I personally can not lie. If I even try people know it right away. I know where you are coming from with that girl though. There was a girl in my highschool that was a pathological lier. She even got the point that she lied about rape, cancer, and her family. All of which I find disgusting. I was speaking to someone about her and I fond out that she didn’t lie until her older brother passed away. I feel like she was seeking attention, something she knew she could get if she lied.

  4. 4 David Lynch May 17, 2011 at 11:29 am

    I have to agree, I think lying could be very stressful if you have a problem and let lies start to pile up, such as those that dane cook stews up. I know that personally I am incapable of holding true to a lie; If I try to tell a lie it is a disaster… Even if it is something insignificant, harmless or just a joke, about ten seconds after my little lie I have to say “nahhh that never happenned, just kidding.” Or they will say “oh my gosh, really!”… only to respond with “nope…”

    So, that being said, I think that if there was some situation in which I were to tell a lie and didn’t reveal it, shortly after I would have feelings of guilt, which I am sure would be link to stress. How relavent this is to other people is beyond me, but for myself, lying is positively related to stress.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


