Farewell for now RMC!

I attended RMC from 1995-1999. During my first few years in college, I loved everything about the school, the campus, Ashland, and being away from home! Gradually, however, I grew comfortable with RMC and then bored with it. I longed to move on. In my senior year I feel like I spent more time off-campus than on it, between a J-term in ireland, student teaching through the spring, loads of interviews for grad schools all over the country, and just visiting family a lot more. I was thrilled to leave Ashland and move to Chicago, so ready for many new adventures. I never thought I’d return.

And yet, in 2008, I did return. This time it was to take a postdoctoral teaching/research position with my former mentor Kelly Lambert and to become a professor where I was once a student. It was awkward for about the first month, and then it just felt like home.  As a professor I go out of my way to see my dad (Professor George Lowry), whereas when I was a student I tried to pretend we weren’t in the same universe. For the past 3 years I’ve helped Dr. Lambert build a fantastic Behavioral Neuroscience lab and conduct loads of cool research. I’ve taught hundreds of amazing students. I’ve loved my time here. But for many reasons, the time has come to move on. New adventures are waiting for me. And I find myself saying goodbye to RMC again.

This time I am wiser and I know that RMC is in my blood. I never know when, but I’m sure I’ll return again, even if it is only to visit. Never say never again… at least not as it pertains to RMC! Somehow it soothes me to know that RMC will be here and that I’ll be back. Somehow I feel less stressed by the move. It isn’t “goodbye”, but “see you later”… and that makes all the difference.

6 Responses to “Farewell for now RMC!”


  1. 1 Laura April 29, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Thank you Professor Franssen for sharing with us. I’ve definitely enjoyed your class. I feel like R-MC has become a place that I can really call “home” and now that I move forward I see myself definitely coming back to visit. It does comfort me to think that R-MC will be here. Best wishes with your new opportunities!

  2. 2 klew23 May 8, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    For me, my experience has been kind of the opposite of your’s so far. When I first arrived at RMC I hated it here. I considered transferring, and I just did not want to be here. As time progressed I grew to like the school more and more. I can’t wait for the summer time, because it’s a bit less stressful, but I find myself missing the campus when I’m away now.

  3. 3 rmb2 May 9, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    My experience has also been by far at opposite ends of the poles as yours. I hated it here because I had a hard time making friends, and being myself around people i have just met. Although many people dont see it I am a very shy person. When i dont know anyone i tend to be a bit on the quiet side. When i go home for a weekend i do not necessarily miss the campus but i do miss the people. I dont miss the campus because most people have the ability to go home and see there parents and family at home every once in a while. Playing sports has me trapped here for a number of consecutive months which really puts a damper on my family life. I will definately miss the school when i graduate however!

  4. 4 danielledheron May 9, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    As a current senior with only 2 weeks left here at RMC I am already feeling many of those things. In a sense I am ready and eager to move on to the next stage of my life with many new exciting things to look forward to such as moving in with my boyfriend, being independent, having a real job, and being closer to my family. However, each of these things comes with a new level of stress and responsibility. In addition, I will greatly miss the familiarity and comfort that I have found here at RMC. It is strange and surreal to me to think that I will no longer see ALL of my friends every day and that estes lunch dates with my sorority sisters 3 days a week will be no more. Yet, I know that I will definitely be back here whether it be for Homecoming, alumni soccer games, sorority events, pig roasts or a random visits, and I find comfort in that.

  5. 5 treyh43 May 12, 2011 at 12:35 am

    Coming to my final weeks here at RMC I feel that same way. I have had my ups and downs here at Macon and part of me wants to go and the other wants to stay. All I know is that I am going to have to come back here and visit many of my friends who I will miss dearly.

  6. 6 ksdavis04 May 16, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Even though, I’m a sophomore, I haven’t started to love RMC yet. I look at other students and they all can find something about the school that they love. Unfortunately, I really haven’t found a solid group of friends nor have I felt like I belonged here. I hope that my opinion will change by next year. If not, then I guess i’ll just have to deal with it. I’m hoping that I won’t have to do that though.
    However, I wish you the best of luck on wherever you decide to go next. If you continue to teach, then your students should be honored to have an amazing professor such as yourself.
    I’ve enjoyed your class so much. I feel that it has been the most benenficial class I will take in college. 🙂


Leave a comment




Authors