Technology

After today’s discussion in class, it really made me think about how much we use technology.  Everything we need to know on a daily bases is just one click, one email, or one phone call away.  I have come to a realization that I do not go anywhere without my phone.  Have you ever thought about what this world was like without technology?  Well I have, and I think that without technology human relationships would be much greater (having a stronger social support), people may find that they “know how” to do things more then they “know that.”  If we didn’t have technology we would be forced to do everything on our own, which in a way may make us smarter.  For example, today people with Internet connections can now use Google to access an incredible amount of information. That access could make us less likely to memorize information, knowing that we can access it online any day, at any time.

Now that there is Facebook and Twitter, you catch many people on their phones almost at all times.  These social connections because of technology are making our relationships less likely to grow and making people become lazy.  I have seen my friends stay on Facebook all day, what you can possible do on one page for a whole day is beyond me.  Yes, I use it, but I don’t think it affects my daily life; I don’t have the urge to get on every time I see a computer, and I have better things in life to turn to then a social network.  I would much rather go hang out with a friend and talk to them face to face, rather than through technology.  Technology is taking over and we know it, it takes away time from your life, time from doing your school work or work in general.  The true question, is technology taking over your life?

4 Responses to “Technology”


  1. 1 ksdavis04 May 16, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    I agree that life without technology would improve the way we socialize, but I also think its up to the people who use technology to communicate to get out and go talk to people face to face. I think the lack of face-to-face communication and real socialization comes from laziness. Even though many people look down on this idea, meeting people through social sites can be a good way to make friends and connect with people that you probably wouldn’t meet in your own social setting. However, I only encourage meeting someone online if you have mutual friends, have chatted with them on webcam or if you have some other kind of proof that they are who they say they are.
    As for “knowing how” and “knowing why”, I think that the internet can teach us both.
    Youtube and other sites that host how-to videos, show you how to fix, make, and put things together.

  2. 2 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I, personally, can not stand how much I rely on technology. I take advantage of every moment I can get away from it. Facebook and Skype are great when I need to keep in touch with a friend who is far away (like friends from home in Jersey) or abroad, but I definitely think it takes away a major part of social support. Nothing can beat face to face communication.

    Recently one of my best friends went to basic training in Missouri. I am used to talking to him everyday on the phone, I knew the transition would be a tough one. However, we have sent each other hand written letters since he left. I can’t believe that I have been missing out on this experience. It takes about 3 weeks to get a letter back and I look forward to his response everyday. Getting something handwritten means so much more than a typed letter, email, or facebook message. This is definitely something I will continue in my future.

  3. 3 carimalakoff May 16, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    I believe technology has become such a prominent tool in society in which people use it non-stop. For me, I rely on technology very much in terms of communicating to people both far and near. For instance, in terms of communicating with others at school, I rely on using my phone in order to get in contact with them even though I could easily walk over and talk face-to-face. I do see the use of technology becoming a problem in which research has found that face-to-face interactions are far better than communicating with someone over the phone. By having an interaction with someone face-to-face allows one another to see their emotions instead of having to rely on their voice in order to see how they’re feeling. Also, I agree with the previous comment in which getting something handwritten is so much more meaningful to me than a typed letter or e-mail. By personally writing a letter shows that the person took the time and effort to personally write you a letter in which also can better show their emotions by showing their writing style. However, technology has helped me in staying in contact with those who are far away due to it being a simple and fast way to stay in communication with one another.

  4. 4 eglundberg May 17, 2011 at 2:06 am

    I agree with this post completely!! Seriously, without technology communication would be an entire different story.
    Text messaging, e-mail, facebook, instant messaging and other technological forms have altered human communication for the worse. I think that people’s relationships are not as strong as they once were because the verbal communication is not as common. It’s so much easier to shoot a text or e-mail, but does that really make your relationships more intimate? No.

    An example of this is my younger sister’s friends. My little sister had a crush on this guy and she would text him all the time, talk to him on facebook, and instant message him. When it finally got time for their first date at a high school football game, they hardly even spoke to eachother. They were so comfortable just typing and saying their conversations through technology that they didn’t know how to act or respond through interpersonal communication. I find this very sad and depressing because as we move on with technology, will our relationships with others just become weaker? Or will everyone put forth the extra effort to keep them intimate?


Leave a Reply

Authors


