The week before exam stress…

So now that I am a senior I feel that I can confidently say that I understand how a professor plans his or her class. However, I do not necessarily understand why they assign copious amounts of work the week prior to ‘finals week’. I know many students say that ‘finals week’ is the most stressful time of the semester but I tend to disagree. There is nothing more stressful than having two exams, two papers, and two presentations all due BEFORE having to start studying for finals. I always wonder what a professor’s rationale is for assigning an exam literally two or three days before the final. This year, my senior year, I feel as if it has been the most stressful of my undergraduate career. Not only do I have an excessive amount of studying to do and papers to write, but I also have to present on Research Day which is also immensely stressful as I have to discuss my research and results with my fellow classmates and professors. Do professors feel that assigning this much work before finals will make us LESS stressed during actual ‘finals week’?

4 Responses to “The week before exam stress…”


  1. 1 kristenlyon May 14, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Seriously. SO many people can’t wait for finals to be over. I can’t wait for the week before finals to be over. It’s like a cram session with tests, papers, presentations, etc. Not to bash professors at all, but come on. Must be they don’t remember what it was like and how stressful it was.

  2. 2 klew23 May 17, 2011 at 1:09 am

    The week before final exams was the complete opposite of stress-free. It is ridiculous how much pressure you put on your mind to make sure you don’t bomb your grades the week before you take grade-changing finals. You would think professors would designate some leisure time to study and relax your mind, but for some odd reason the overwhelm the students with work. I think the week before finals are more stressful than exam week itself.

  3. 3 danielledheron May 17, 2011 at 1:32 am

    I had so much work the week before finals that now that finals are here I am so exhausted and burnt out that it is a struggle to focus and study. I often find that while studying everything starts to seem the same and I really can’t recall anything I was reading. I agree that the week before finals can be even more stressful than the finals themself.

  4. 4 jzentz May 17, 2011 at 11:27 am

    I think the last 2 weeks are the most stressful weeks of the semester, because like you said, that it when all the assigments seem to pile up for all the classes. Im am amazed when I actually finiah all my work in those final weeks because of how heavy of a load it is.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


