Managing Your Stress Through Meditation

Meditation is a technique I have always wanted to practice to help in managing my stress, but was never exactly sure how to practice it.  According to Sapolsky’s Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers, meditation is an effective stress management technique because if it is done on a regular, daily basis it can decrease your glucocorticoid levels and sympathetic tone, while also decreasing your blood pressure while meditating. As this website suggests, by allowing yourself fifteen to thirty minutes a day to meditate, it will help you clear your mind and also allow yourself to feel at ease, relaxed, and stress-free. A few benefits meditation gives a person are it helps in improving a person’s concentration, in which clears your mind and allowing yourself to be more productive, most noticeably in creative areas such as writing. Also, meditation helps in reducing your stress levels and helps in relieving anxiety by helping to freeing one’s mind and relaxing one’s body at the same time.

While there are many ways to meditate that depend on which helps set your body and mind most at ease, I found a few helpful factors to take into account while using this stress management technique. First off, you want to make sure you are in a quiet area where there are no distractions in order to allow yourself a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere to relax. Second, allow yourself time to meditate (15-30 minutes) in order for you to fulfill relaxation and be at ease. Also, it is vital for you to listen to the words of the meditation and to picture the images, such as the sound of waves on the beach that are being either described or visualized in your mind as you meditate. I was able to find a few videos in which show examples of meditation, such as “Quick Getaway” that gives you peaceful and relaxing images such as the beach, sunset, etc. Also, I found this site called “Reducing Stress,” that explains what to do step by step in order to meditate.

Still not exactly sure how to meditate? I was able to find this other video in which visually shows the exact positions to be in while meditating and what to do. After learning more about meditation and its benefits, I will definitely try this as a stress management technique!

3 Responses to “Managing Your Stress Through Meditation”


  1. 1 klew23 May 9, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I’m sure meditating is great for stress, but if you’re in a place, like college for example, where can you find a distraction free space? I’m sure everywhere there is a quiet place somewhere, but meditation is probably alot harder to do if you live in a loud environment, for instance a busy city. I wonder if meditation is less popular in places like cities and colleges, which are areas of high stress.

  2. 2 danielledheron May 9, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    I have tried meditation numerous times and I am just not very good at it. I envy people who are able to truly meditate and benefit from it. My personal obstacle is calming my mind. I always find that when I try to meditate I have a million though processes going on at one time and am completely unable to control them. I end up more stressed and frustrated than I was before I tried to meditate.

  3. 3 ksdavis04 May 16, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I’ve always been curious about meditating and how to go about doing it in the proper way. Reading this post makes me really want to try it, especially this summer when I will have time to truly focus on it.
    I had no idea that meditating could also improve your concentration and help you become more productive. That makes me want to focus on learning how to do it even more.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


