Got a Guilty Feeling?

While recently talking to a friend about some of her personal situations and the choices she had made, I have to wonder how is she able to proceed with her day knowing that she did something very wrong? I know that when I do something I know is wrong, my conscience eats at me until I finally cannot stand it any longer!  Thinking back on some things I have done that made me feel guilty, I get knot in my stomach, I feel paranoid as though everyone around me knows that I did something bad. Sometimes, certain situations involve other people, like lying to them, going behind their backs, or doing something you know this person would not appreciate. In some instances you do not even have to know to the person that you are affecting, like cheating spouses. The “other woman” or “other man” may not have any idea who their partners real spouse is but they may still feel badly for what they have done to that person.  Having this weight on your chest can cause some stress and become a distraction to your everyday life.  Guitly consciences can cause you to become distracted from things in your life that should be your top priority, like school work, it can also cause you to lose sleep which can be a stresssor.  I found a website that lists ways to ease one’s stress, and number eight stands out particularly. http://www.confrontingissues.com/easing_stress.php  “Guilt robs us of our peace.” Such a true statement!

The figure in the picture appears to be chained & holding something heavy, maybe an action they feel guilty for? If he were to release the guilt he would also be released of the pressure.

11 Responses to “Got a Guilty Feeling?”


  1. 1 carleymclellon May 11, 2011 at 10:57 am

    I agree with this blog. I think everyone at some point has had a guilty conscious even if it’s something as little as telling a little white lie. That type of stress weighs on your chest like a ton of bricks. As I’ve grown up I’ve learned its allot easier to tell the truth to my parents instead of lying.

  2. 2 maconheikes May 11, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I agree with this blog i think we were all raised to do the right thing and when we do the wrong thing its not that others should be dissapointed in us its that we should be dissapointed in ourselves.

  3. 3 whitneyroberts May 11, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    “Guilt robs us of our peace.” That IS a very true statement. I believe that there are three parts to relieving guilt. The first (and what SHOULD be the ONLY) is to avoid situations that are not right in the first place. Secondly, (which should ALWAYS follow failure of the first option) is to confront this guilt, come clean, and be truthful. The third part is CHOICE; this comes after step 2. Sometimes you just have to make the DECISION that you are not going to allow this mistake to ruin your life. It is over and done with, and if you have confronted it, and asked for forgiveness (in any way you feel), then you just have to make the choice to LIVE your life and put the past behind you and not make it control your future.

  4. 4 kristenlyon May 11, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. I feel so guilty if I do something I know I shouldn’t. Even the smallest, dumbest things. I would have more stress telling a fib than I would if I told the truth even if it were a little whacky. We should avoid situations which cold have the potential to make us feel guilty. If it is an action to pursue, we could avoid it. If we are under pressure by another, we will feel better in the long-run if we just stand our ground. How many of us are asked to do something and give in out of guilt? And who has ever done something we shouldn’t and then felt guilty? The feeling in the pit of my stomach and the headache I get is not worth the guilt. Yet, We all do it daily. Vicious cycle.

  5. 5 treyh43 May 12, 2011 at 12:01 am

    I think that everyone has had the feeling of guilt and has probably had it multiple times. I know that when it has happened to me it can be very stressful. For me whenever I have a conversation when my mom I usually feel very releived. But if my mom calls me five minutes after I talk to her I usually know that I have done something wrong. So right then I have the anticipation of guilt when I dont even really know if I had done anything at all.

  6. 6 rmc10 May 12, 2011 at 3:28 am

    I couldn’t agree more. I haven’t had this feeling for a while but I know that when I lived at home under my parents strict rules I had this guilty feeling a lot. My mom was the best a making me feel bad for missing curfew by a couple of minutes or forgetting to do my chores which made me come up with some pretty lame excuses. Since my mom and I are extremely close I would always feel guilty for “letting her down” or not doing what she wanted and then on top of that telling her a little white lie to her face! Even though these examples aren’t that big of a deal they still cause me to feel guilt and weighted down because I felt as if I had done a double negative, not doing what she wanted then finding an excuse to cover up my mistake.

  7. 7 eglundberg May 15, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    I definitely agree with this blog. I think it is terrible how people cheat on each other and disrespect their significant other. I don’t know how people can live with knowing that they are not staying faithful to their spouse or boy/girlfriend, and think it’s all fun and games. If you don’t want to feel guilty anymore, then don’t do bad things and go with your gut feeling. Listen to the little angel on your shoulder telling you to say and do the right things!

  8. 8 ksdavis04 May 16, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I agree with this post. Though I haven’t done anything recently that has made me feel guilty, I have felt this feeling before. When I feel that I have done something wrong, it bothers me for days. If I have hurt someone’s feelings, I feel the need to apologize.
    I never realized exactly how stressful feeling guilty can be. But if get to a point where I won’t feel guilty about the bad things that I do, will that make me a heartless person?

  9. 9 carimalakoff May 16, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    I definitely agree with this post and prior comments. Whenever I have felt as if I have done something wrong, I feel as though I can not live with feeling like this. As a result, I do my best to fix the situation if I feel I have done something wrong. If I don’t I will also feel anxiety and stress in addition to feeling as though I also have knots in my stomach. I have heard of stories in which people do things and have no guilty conscience or feel sorry for what they have done and I don’t understand how they can have no remorse. While having a guilty conscience can cause great stress, it also makes a person realize what they did was wrong and there is still a chance to fix it and make it right.

  10. 10 thesmitty21 May 16, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    I think that we have all felt guilty about something. The worst thing about it is when you feel that you have disappointed someone. That is what causes me the most guilt. I hate felling that I disappointed someone close to me. It can cause some serious stress. It’s stress that usally can’t be forgotten until you make it up.

  11. 11 mdpacifico May 17, 2011 at 1:25 am

    I think an important point to make here is also how different people have different views on what they see as wrong so by you wondering how your friend got through her day, well you have to consider to maybe to her what she did may not seem so wrong. However I do believe that the fact that feeling guilty can cause us to become more stressed. And also feeling guilty can lead to other factors such as lack of sleep that can lead to even more stress. Another connection I made after reading this blog is how feeling guilty can also be a matter of control. Sometimes stress can be caused by feeling guilty for things that we can’t control so it’s true that stress has different aspects that contribute to it.


Leave a Reply

Authors


