Surgery stress

I feel that there is a lot of stress that can come from going through surgery. There is the anxious feeling that you get the couple days before you go to surgery, and then there is the stress that is added to your body by not being able to eat from 12 at night until after your surgery. I find this to be very hard to do since I like to eat a lot which often occurs between the hours of 12 and 1 in the morning. I think that the most stressful part of surgery is the recovering part of it. I hate not being able to do things on my own which makes recovering from a surgery even harder for me. I also do not like sitting around and watching people work out. A feeling of worthlessness comes over me has I think about how much I wish I could be running and jumping around.

Then there is the physical therapy you have to go through which adds more stress. Many of the exercises that you have to do in PT involve getting your range of motion back and strengthening your muscles around the surgery. So if you had surgery on your knee let’s say, you have to start bending it after you have been on crutches for about a week. You also have to do strengthening exercises on muscles that you have completely neglected because you have crutching around campus unable to walk. For this reason I feel that surgery adds a lot of stress into a person’s life.

5 Responses to “Surgery stress”


  1. 1 klew23 May 15, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    The worst surgery I have been through was getting my wisdom teeth removed. I definitely love to eat too, but when I thought of the stress that was the last memory to cross my mind. At least not the eating restrictions before surgery. My eating problem came after the surgery. I had to eat mashed potatoes, apple sauce, and soup for a week! I remembering laying in my room for two days straight, so it felt really good when I was able to get out. Surgery is definitely stressful, but I think it’s because it prevents you from doing what you want to do.

  2. 2 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Surgery is definitely a stressful situation. Not only the stress itself, but everything you have to plan around it. I had knee surgery summer of 2009 and it was terrible. The surgeon found a lot of things wrong, so my recovery turned out a lot worse than expected. I was in PT all summer, and I was (and still am) restricted in what I can do. I couldn’t drive for months and I am still not allowed to run.

    I had to plan everything carefully that summer. I had to schedule my job around my surgery and I wasn’t allowed to ride for two months (which is killer for me). The surgery is stressful in itself, but everything in your life can become stressful during reovery.

  3. 3 jzentz May 16, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    Surgery is a major stressor and can be a pain. Last winter I was told I had to get surgery on my labrem (shoulder). Fortinately, the injury could be fixed with a lot of rehab and physical therapy. I remember being stressed trying to figure out how I was going to write, where I was going to sleep (my bed was lofted), and what I was going to do exercise wise since I was going to be out for a few weeks.

  4. 4 eglundberg May 17, 2011 at 2:10 am

    Surgery is definitely a major stressor, and hassle at that! I have only been through surgery twice in my life, and the most recent was for my wisdom teeth. I was so nervous because I already have a space in between my two front teeth and thought that if they were taken out that it would get bigger. The orthodontist guaranteed me that it would not change, but I was still very nervous.
    It’s been almost a year now since I’ve had the surgery and thankfully my teeth have been the same. Just the chance of my visible teeth being altered was a major stressor for me during the time though. I sympathize for those who have to go through physical training because that is definitely no fun, and just all the chances and consequences that come with surgery are scary!

  5. 5 rmb2 May 17, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Surgery puts a real stress on peoples bodies. When I had to get surgery on my hand I was freaking out the night before.
    1. Because I am petrified of needles.
    2. I hate blood.
    3. I hate hospitals.

    Now these things all relate to going to the doctors or hospital. I dont know if I picked these traits up through despising the doctor or what, but to be honest i still am freaked out by all of those things. It just does not feel right doing them.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


