No cell phone… No Stress

This week I have been working without my phone, and it has been one of the best weeks of my life this year. I have been able to complete tasks without having any interruptions of buzzing cell phones, and drama filled text messages. When on this week long journey I started out in the library. While in the library I completed the work that would have taken me 4 hours, in a senseless two hours. Some people text while in class… I would never do that! But I cannot imagine who can have a conversation through text messages and concentrate on the information being presented in class. This still astonishes me to this day how some people are able to multi-task like that. Now back to my story of being phonelesss….

While being phone-less I completed many more tasks than I would have in the real world with a cell phone. I went fishing while cell-less, and on the journey I had the most relaxing time ever. We went fishing in the North Anna river located right up route 1. When fishing me and my friend Jay Crawford actually had a very relaxing day of fishing. We only had to wear bathing suits, and had the best time cause we weighted through the water to get to the fishing spots. When fishing i felt the sand at my feet, and the flowing water up to my knees. I could not be in a better place than i was that day. The thing that got me really excited about the whole entire trip was the second fish I caught. The fish was caught in a certain area that was right below a water fall. The water fall created a sound that is the most relaxing sound I have ever heard. The fish put up a tough fight, and it took me a while to get in, approximately five minutes. When I finally got the fish near my feet I quickly realized this thing was about 5 inches long. What i thought was a foot long fish on the end of my line, was simply a near minow. The fish put up a large fight for his size. “Its not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog.”

Living life without a phone for several days has been the most relaxing time of my life, and if my parents were not forcing me to buy another phone, I would rather not have a phone, and stay relaxed throughout exam week. Living without a phone has been the best time of my life, I wish technology had not grown large enough to create personal telephones.

3 Responses to “No cell phone… No Stress”


  1. 1 french111 May 10, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Its not technology that’s the problem, but how people use cells phones. I just recently got my first cell phone when I came to college. It hasn’t been stressful at all because I don’t carry it around with me. It stays in my dorm room and I use as if it’s a room phone. There are many great benefits of a cell phone, but people just need to rethink about how they use them.

  2. 2 whitneyroberts May 11, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    You are right. What I particularly noticed was what you mentioned about completing a typical 4 hour task with a cell phone, took you only 2 hours to do when you did not have your phone. While technology has its many pros: medical treatments, life saving surgeries, maintaining instant contact with family members miles away; it does have its drawbacks which you so adequately outlined in your blog. I suppose the challenge is to find a balance, but personally, its very hard.

  3. 3 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I love being able to get away from my phone. When I visit my aunt in upstate NY I don’t get any service. I just leave my phone off in the car. I look forward to visiting her because it is truely an escape. I get to relax, go for walks on her farm, and ride without worrying about being in constant contact. I think life without my phone allows me to truely appreciate and absorb everything going on around me.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


