Entering the Real World

As graduating is only a little more than two weeks away and final exams approaching next week, I have begun to feel very stressed. Even though I know what I want to pursue as my future career, it is still nerve-wrecking to enter the “real world” from the college life.  No longer will I be able to take naps in the middle of the afternoon or have a few hours of classes during the day in which I can then plan on how I would like to spend the rest of my day.

As I was looking for helpful ways as to how to adjust to post-college life, I came across this website in which outlines how to deal with post-graduation stress. First off, the article explains how it is perfectly normal for a recent college graduate to feel “stress and uncertainty.” Instead of stressing out over your plans, or maybe lack thereof, and are worried about your finances, don’t use stress as a justification to spend money in which you cannot afford. Instead, stick to a budget so that you don’t have credit card debt as an addition to the stress you already are feeling.

Another tip is that if you are a little indecisive as to what type of job or career you want to pursue, it is okay to be unsure as to which job you want to pursue but you must find a job and work in order to figure out what type of career you would like to have.

One last tip this article gave is to “confront the future” and realize that you could do a lot of different things with whatever major you chose in college. Even though many college students do not end up in jobs related to their majors, finding a job is what is most important. In addition, figure out what goals you want in life now that you are a post-graduate and also be realistic as well. For example, if you found a job, you may not be earning the income you desire. However, you must realize that in order to make the income you desire, you must start from the bottom in order to work your way up the “corporate ladder.”

While graduating is definitely a stressful time, it is important to also see graduating as an achievement for fulfilling four years you dedicated your hard work and time to in order to reach a new chapter in your life.

4 Responses to “Entering the Real World”


  1. 1 whitneyroberts May 11, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    The first thing I thought when I read the title of this blog was “NO! I DONT WANT TO GO (into the real world)” LOL. I had this conversation with my mother and it made me realize how much things have changed. While she was getting all crazy about the fact that I am still a little indecisive about my career choices, I was as cool as a cucumber reassuring her that it is OKAY to not be 100% sure and telling her many of the things mentioned above. I think that most of the tips related to relieving stress and anxiety in the “real world” are centered around just knowing that there are always options out there, and things WILL work out.

  2. 2 ksdavis04 May 16, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Firstly, I want to say congrats on making it through college! Secondly, I’m so JEALOUS! I wish that I was a senior because I am so tired of college already.

    Even though I’m only a sophomore, I do dread going off on my own to pursue a career. I’ve been spoiled by my mother and grandmother so much that it seems like I really won’t know how to do anything for myself when I’m living on my own. I have 2 more years until I have to test my survival skills so I guess time will tell.

  3. 3 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    I can’t believe we seniors graduate soon. The idea still hasn’t hit me yet, I bet it won’t until I don’t return to VA next fall.

    I am definitely worried about the future and what will be coming, but I am excited for the new experiences. I am not ready to go. However, I know I am ready to move on to new and bigger things.

  4. 4 David Lynch May 17, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    I have very mixed feelings about moving into “the real world”. I am both nervous and excited.

    I am nervous that I might be moving away from richmond and will no longer be living in a community that has all of my closest friends living within two miles of one another. But at the same time I am excited to be moving out on my own and becoming more independent. I am looking forward to living on my own and having that freedom, which will be coupled with tons of responsibilities. The challenge that awaits me after the 28th is going to be a scary, yet exciting step in the adventure we call life.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


