The Stress and Emotions of Moving

I have lived in two houses my whole life. The first one I wouldn’t consider because I don’t even remember it, I lived in that house till I was two years old. Once I turned two, we moved about a half a mile down the street from our old house and have been there ever since. For over a year now our house has been on the market and due to the awful economy I thought it would never sell. Well wasn’t I wrong!! I honestly don’t know any better than the house I live in now, it’s perfect to me. I am in walking distance of my best friends in the community; there is a beach, boats, golf course, tennis course, pools, and club houses. Our family is very close with a bunch of people in our community and I feel leaving is going to be very hard. I honestly never thought this day would come, but I was informed once I get out of college this year were out, as if I thought college wasn’t stressful enough, now I got to deal with a new environment and starting over with making new friends (which I know every person hates to do).

When I think about it, I try to think that I’m at college most of the year and I am not really living there, but it’s the true fact that it’s not going to be the same. Usually I am a person who likes change, but I feel like this change may flip my world upside down. Lately this is the only thing I have been thinking about because it’s all coming to an end and another change is coming my way. I guess I don’t know how to deal with it.

6 Responses to “The Stress and Emotions of Moving”


  1. 1 klew23 May 15, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Changing where you live is definitely stressful. The thing is it’s not only stressful for the person moving. I’ve lived in the same place since I could remember. I have had numerous friends come and go, and I can vouch that it stinks when you walk past a good friend’s old house. I’m sure moving away is stressful, but maybe knowing you’re not the only person dealing with stress can help you cope a little better.

  2. 2 eglundberg May 15, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Moving anywhere is gets you out of your comfort zone and stresses you out. Cleaning, packing everything up, and making the move are all such a hassle that may people don’t move at all simply because they hate doing all of that and like to stay in one location. I know that it’s really hard knowing that the house that used to be yours will be someone elses.
    My best friend moved after 8th grade, and I pretty much grew up at her house. After she moved away and I would drive past her house, it was weird knowing that I couldn’t just let myself in and go hang out there.. it’s definitely a stressor knowing that what used to be comfortable and okay, suddenly is not.

  3. 3 alilogue May 16, 2011 at 12:14 am

    yeah, the people came today and were talking to my parents the whole time about what they liked and what they are going to change and stuff. its weird and not the same knowin that where i grew up, two other little girls are going to be doing the same.

  4. 4 danielledheron May 17, 2011 at 1:23 am

    I can completely relate. I currently live on Smith Mountain Lake, Va but I am originally from Point Pleasant, NJ. My parents decided to move right after I finished 6th grade so not only was I moving to a new place but I was also having to deal with the anxiety of starting middle school. The worst part was that I went from a tiny, close-knit school to a middle school that housed the entire county. In addition, I experienced some massive culture shock. I was used to being in a busy area, near the beach where I could pretty much walk anywhere or be within a mall or movie theater in a 3 minute drive. My new house was out in the “boonedocks” and literally had cows in the backyard. The closest “store” was a gas station/minute mart, the closest Walmart was 30 minutes away, and the closest mall was 1 hour away. So not only was I moving far away from everyone I knew but I was also having to adapt to a brand new culture I had never been exposed to, while dealing with awkwardness and pressures of puberty. As awful as it was at the time, I managed, I have a great group of friends who I still keep in touch with and I adjusted quite well to the southern lifestyle. I was sold on living in the south once I had my first glass of sweet tea and a homemade biscuit.

  5. 5 rmb2 May 17, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Last year I moved out of my house and into another, well my family did. I was not there because we moved in during the spring. So i came home to a brandnew house and brand new room already set up. I did not have any say in the matter of where my bed was to go, or where my dresser was. My mom did it the way she wanted. It was a really stressful time cause it felt as though i missed out on so much in my familys life.

  6. 6 alilogue May 17, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    wow that is really hard, i dont know how you managed that. i dont even like the idea of leaving knowing i can pick all that stuff, i just dont want to.


Leave a Reply

Authors


