Disney, are there really subliminal messages?

So, I’m sure everyone loves the wonderful Walt Disney movies. We all watched them in our youth and might still watch them at times because they remind us of our childhood! In high school I took a psychology class and we learned about subliminal messaging. Subliminal messages are hidden words or images in advertisements, movies, or music. It has been noticed that there are subliminal messages in some Disney movies such as The Lion King, Aladdin, and The Little Mermaid.  Have you all seen heard of these messages being present in the Disney movies?

Here is an example of a subliminal message in Aladdin.

You must listen very closely, but Aladdin says, “Take off your clothes.”  Why would Disney put this into one of his movies that are meant for children?  What do you think?

Another movie is The Lion King.  While Simba lays down in the grass, dust flies up into the sky to spell the word sex.. watch closely in this video.

Finally, a third movie that has subliminal messages in it is The Little Mermaid.  At the end of the movie, when Prince Eric and Ursula are getting married the priest is having a little problem with his pants… here’s another video.

After watching these three examples of subliminal messaging in Disney movies, does it change your perspective on them? Do you think these are real or fake, there is much controversy between the subject so what is your opinion on it?

10 Responses to “Disney, are there really subliminal messages?”


  1. 1 kristenlyon May 14, 2011 at 9:54 am

    I’m not entirely sure that these are subliminal messaging becuase I want to believe they really are innocent movies for children (like me). But I would like to justify why they might actually be perverted inserts. Sex is a huge part of life. Reproduction of course, but stereotypically men are supposed to live for the pleasure of sex and women are supposed to look sexy for men. So, with this in mind, the writers of Walt Disney World are no different. I want to say it was a group of people just like us. Men and women who see each other all day long at work and know each other pretty well. One of them gets a really funny idea to put hidden sexual messages in children’s movies to spice up their own ordinary lives. It was just the work of a group of people who were bored and wanted a good laugh.

  2. 2 klew23 May 15, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    As childish as it sounds, I actually got a good laugh out of this, so maybe the people who are responsible for this wanted it to be funny. It amazes me how things like this can go unnoticed until someone brings it to your attention. People must have really been closely observing these movies to make these discoveries.

  3. 4 ksdavis04 May 16, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    I think this is hilarious. I had actually seen these clips before.
    Maybe my mind is just in the gutter, but I think that you can find something perverted in every program or movie intended for children. I think that the creators and writers assume that they can throw things in and they won’t be noticed. For example, Rocko’s Modern Life has alot of jokes and things that you won’t understand while you’re young, but if you go back and watch it when you’re older you’ll understand it.

  4. 5 thesmitty21 May 16, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    I’ve seen these before and also laughed pretty hard. I just thought it was funny how these are all movies we loved growing up and never noticed. I figure if my whole day was doing these dull things all day I’d try to add some excitement to it as well.

  5. 6 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    I have heard of these many time before. At one point all I did was look for subliminal messages in children’s movies/shows.

    I think that some of these are intentional, but some are accidental. I have heard that the erection in the Little Mermaid is actually the priest’s knee, the drawing just turned out wrong. Also, I have heard that the reason there are these messages is bcause the cartoonists used to get a tiny salary from Disney. The messages was their way to protest their minimal pay.

  6. 7 maconheikes May 16, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    yeah id say more of these things are accidental then intentional these movies are timeless classics and these messages shouldnt change that. it just seems like an odd way to protest when millions of children even if they dont notice watch these movies.

  7. 8 jzentz May 16, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    You can find adult content in a lot of animated films for children. I think the people making the movies do it because the material will most likely go over the child’s head, and it also provides the adults with something extra to laugh at (if they happen to catch it.) I personally enjoy it whenever I catch one of these moments in a old disney classic that I used to watch growing up.

  8. 9 mdpacifico May 17, 2011 at 12:24 am

    I really don’t believe disney would put subliminal messaging about sex in there movies for the simple reason of what purpose would it serve? I know that when I was younger and watched these movies I didn’t pick up on any of the hidden messages in those scenes, in fact this blog post is the first time my attention has been brought to the underlying messages. I would also like to know who it was who first realized all these things. After reading this post I want to go watch these movies and the subliminal messaging scenes in their original context.

  9. 10 David Lynch May 17, 2011 at 10:34 am

    I actually took a class about the history of animation in America, and what we are seeing aren’t necessarily subliminal messages, but more the creators bringing themselves some entertainment in the office. In most cases, I don’t think they were trying to put messages into the minds of children, but only trying to entertain themselves and their peers in the office… who can get away with the most? haha.

    However, I do think that many of the more recent animated movies that have been released are a bit inappropriate for their viewing audience. There are many movies out right now that are visually pleasing for children, but include many innuendos and references that children can’t (and shouldn’t) understand, and they provide no entertainment value to the child watching. However, if ever watching these movies with a little one, they also serve to be quite entertaining to the older generations, which I think is great :-).


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


