Humor to settle the STRESS!!

Lately I have been overly stressed with school work, and basically everything going on has began to stress me out. Tonight I was pretty stressed worried about my final exams coming up and decided to take a break from studying and begin to unwind a little bit from my educational life. When unwinding I started watching a show called Workaholics which is a very humorous show on comedy central.  On this show they portray people that are very lackadaisical  and dont enjoy their work. They begin to work together and then they decide to take drugs. While on these drugs they act like complete idiots and dont do anything right. They hallucinate and worry about everything going on within the office. Back to the point of my stress level…

Over the time period of 30 minutes of watching this show I began to laugh and be back to being happy and stressless. This created a much better working environment within my room, and I honestly just had to blog about it because I 1)needed to and, 2) thought it was pretty interesting that 30 minutes can do that to your stress level. I knew stress was normally a short-time period stressor yet I did not know it was that short.

        I personally thought that comedy made you temporarily happy, but did not know 30 minutes of laughter can result in hours of happiness. I am normally a happy person that does not receive to much stress, but it still feels good to be happy after having a good laugh.

What are some of your shows that change your mood?

5 Responses to “Humor to settle the STRESS!!”


  1. 1 thesmitty21 May 16, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Laughter is always a good thing. I’ve mentioned in my blog about youtube that laughter is my favorite way to get rid of stress. I love just hanging out with friends goofing off. It makes things seem that much easier in life. While laughing you aren’t worried about that test or whatever else there is in your life.

  2. 2 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    It seems like whenever my life is the most stressful, my friends and I have the tendency to gather together and just laugh and the silliest things. We can just sit there and laugh for hours at a time.

    Right after we get the giddyness out we sit back down and get back to work. Once I settle in it is like my focus has been recharged. Just a small amount of laughing can refocus me. It is definitely a great was to get rid of stress.

  3. 3 mwillsey May 16, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    Laughter definately is great for relieveing stress. Also though, you might love watching this show when you are stressed simply becuase it shows you people who are worse off than you are, even if it is simply a comical TV show. The show allows you to get out of your own stressful world. Even just for 30 min, TV is definately great for excapeism.

  4. 4 eglundberg May 17, 2011 at 2:22 am

    Laughter is definitely one of the best stress relievers. I have never seen this show, but sometimes just taking a break and talking with my friends reduces my level of stress. Recently we have just been spending a lot of time talking and hanging out because we know that we will all be leaving each other soon. During all these times hanging out I have found myself laughing more than ever. I have formed some of my strongest friendships here and they make me laugh and any and everything.
    I find myself after hanging out with my friends so much happier and easy to get along with. Good friends who help promote positive attitudes and can make you laugh are definitely the one worth keeping.

  5. 5 David Lynch May 17, 2011 at 11:05 am

    I have to agree that humor is a great way to escape from stress. One thing I always aim to do when I wake up in the morning is to make at least one person (hopefully more) laugh that day. Usually if I am able to make someone laugh, it will put a smile on my face, and smiles make me feel good :-). This may seem like a fairly silly thing to say, but I do believe that Laughter is the best medicine. It is something that has helped my mum, my brother, and myself get through a lot of stressful times in our lives. As family members suffered through alzheimer’s, and others through congestive heart failure, we have always been able to lighten the moods with a few laughs. My mum has always said, if you can’t laugh, life’s not worth living; as I have continued my life I have taken that to heart and do my best to stand by it.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


