Exams=STRESS!

I am sure that everyone is experiencing some sort of stress relating to end of the year projects, papers, other assignments, and especially exams! Until today I thought that I had a pretty good schedule organized for the upcoming week in relation to when assignments are due, studying for exams next week, and tying up other loose ends involving my academics; however, after making a “to-do list” of everything, I am freaking out! I have a paper and speech outline due Wednesday, our case study due Thursday, and my FYEC research project due Friday…so much to do in so little time! On top of all the assignments I have to complete, I’m dreading packing up everything to go home, having to leave friends that I have become so close with, although in the end it will all be worth it, because summer vacation will finally be here.  College students everywhere are experiencing the same stressors we are, and some how most of them make it, just like all of us will!  On this website it provides 10 Ways to Manage Stress in College. http://powertochange.com/students/academics/managestress/ I found this to be helpful, andd give me hope that I will survive this week, and the next with out dying.

Don’t be the guy in this picture! Get plenty of rest, you perform better when you are well rested. Don’t overdose on Starbucks (even though Randolph-Macon students receive a 15% discount all next week) because too much caffeine isn’t healthy. So, good luck, you can do this!

7 Responses to “Exams=STRESS!”


  1. 1 carleymclellon May 10, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    I agree! I thought it would be a good idea to write a to do list and get organized with everything i need to accomplish before i move out and i ended up more stressed after writing the list!

  2. 2 eglundberg May 11, 2011 at 12:29 am

    To-do lists are what I live for. It rally helps me organize what exactly I need to do, but it also can become very stressful when I write down what I have to do and the list just keeps getting longer and longer. Moving out is especially a big stressor, I have so much stuff and to think that I have to have my room how I did on move-in day, seems unrealistic!

  3. 3 whitneyroberts May 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    I completely agree. I didn’t realize just how much the stress of the end of the semester brings. I haven’t been sick all semester (except for a case of food poisoning, but never a cold). Suddenly I am sneezing, coughing, and getting a runny nose and other cold symptoms. I think that this article is especially important to help us control our lives so that we aren’t so stressed when it comes to the end of the semester; that way we can prevent colds and be ready to tackle exams (I think we all know how awful it is to take an exam when you’re sick! yuck! >.<)!

  4. 4 treyh43 May 11, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    I completely agree with this. Last semester I thought I had a good schedule too. I had four giant papers due, each one due either tuesday, wednesday, thursday, or friday. What I did not realize what that I would have to pull an all nighter every day of the week in order to get the assignments done. I have come to find out that no matter how good your exam schedule looks, that looks are always decieving.

  5. 5 rmc10 May 12, 2011 at 3:21 am

    I can relate! I was all relaxed at the beginning of the week, not realizing that I had tons of work this week and four exams next week. It also didn’t hit me that once exams are over its time to move out and back home. Earlier this week I was having a casual conversation with my friend and she threw in there that she was going home in a week and my jaw literally dropped. After spring break was over I knew that the end of the year was coming soon but I never expected this soon! The year literally passed me by. Once the casual conversation was over with my friend I ran into my room and started to pack and make my to-do list, just like everyone else! And that’s when it all sunk in…I was officially stressed.

  6. 6 carimalakoff May 16, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    I feel the same way in which I am feeling very stressed due to exam week this week. While to-do lists always help me out in knowing what I need to accomplish, they can also make me stress out more. I find it hard to juggle when to do what. For instance, I have an exam Thursday morning and a 20 page research paper due Thursday afternoon. I find it hard to balance when to do which. However, I think by making a schedule to plan my day in which I will set times for myself will definitely help if I stick to it. Luckily, only 5 more days of stress!

  7. 7 mdpacifico May 17, 2011 at 2:41 am

    I’m finding it really funny that you commented not to be the guy in this picture and to get plenty of sleep while I’m with you in copley right now at 3am studying for an 8am exam! But I do agree that exam week is extra stressful and it always seems to sneak up on me.


Leave a Reply

Authors


