Blankies are’nt just for babies

I was thinking about something stressful to blog about and as I was brain storming I asked myself what one thing that helps me manage my stress is. I couldn’t think of anything of the top of my head so I asked my roommate if she noticed anything in particular I turn to, to manage stress and she immediately yelled “Blanky”.

I know this sounds dumb but I still have a baby blanket I sleep with every night. As I became more interested in this weird obsession with a baby blanket I’ve had my whole life, I started to look it up on the internet. It’s not just me, and I’m not crazy! Having a teddy bear or baby blanket is extremely normal even at this age. Not only did I research this I also asked my friends, turns out almost all of them have some security object whether it’s a blanket, teddy bear, or baby jacket. One friend admitted she still sucks her thumb, I thought that was a little much but I guess whatever makes her happy.

I found an article that explains a child’s obsessions with her baby blankets. After reading it made me realize I depend on my blanket for comfort. After a stressful day I’ll get in bed and wrap up in my blankey. That article also says for parents to allow their children to grow out of the blanket phase but I’m 19 years old and I have yet to grow out of it along with a bunch of my friends.

http://www.ehow.com/about_6613741_child-development-security-blankets.html

6 Responses to “Blankies are’nt just for babies”


  1. 1 whitneyroberts May 11, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    I have to agree that when people are stressed they tend to turn to people and even things that can offer them a sense of dependency, trust, love, support and comfort. I don’t have a baby blanket, but I have a baby plate (fully decorated with 3 sections of beautiful pictures of farm life, ABC’s, and numbers). Not to say that when I am stressed I turn to my plate to hug it. But I find that if it is dinner time (at home) and my day hasn’t been so well, I turn to my plate to eat out of, and it really makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside (as cliche and weird as that sounds). Having something that has been there all my life gives me comfort and makes me feel like everything will be okay.

  2. 2 rmc10 May 12, 2011 at 3:05 am

    Even though I personally cannot relate because I don’t have a blankey, I know that most of my friends at college do. I’m sure that there is something that makes me feel secure and is equal to a blankey but it must be in my subconscious mind because I can’t think of anything right away. When I was still at home I never noticed my friends having anything like a blankey either, but now that I live with my friends I notice that most of my friends actually do. Which makes me wonder if my friends from home did as well but just hid it because they didn’t think it was normal. I think that even though I don’t have a blankey or anything from my childhood to make me feel secure, I feel secure in my room or my bed because I am surrounded by all of my personal belongings that have a lot of memories tired to them, regardless of me having them for my whole life or not.

  3. 3 eglundberg May 15, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    I think that’s really interesting and not childish at all! My older sister and I still have plenty of old things from home that I turn to for comfort. My oldest sister still has a baby blanket and angel baby doll that she’s had since she was born. Her blanket has been washed so many times that all it is, is a rag now. Her friends kind of make fun of her sometimes, but she doesn’t care because they mean a lot to her and help her become less stressful.

  4. 4 carimalakoff May 16, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    While I don’t have a blanket I have had for many years in which enables security and comfort, I do have a stuffed animal in which I have had since I was 8 years old. It is not the traditional teddy bear, but is instead an elephant in which my parents gave me for my birthday that I have kept with me since. I have brought my stuffed animal all 4 years of college. I have kept him with me to school from my freshman year until now (the end of my senior year). I have kept him in my room for this long because he is a sign of home and comfort for me.

  5. 5 klew23 May 17, 2011 at 9:10 am

    I think that as we grow older we replace these things we rely on for comfort with other things. Although everyone has there childhood fetish that they can revert back to in times of need, they replace things like a blanky with video games or a spouse. I know people that sucked their thumb until they were 20, but they stopped because people saw it as childish.

  6. 6 jzentz May 17, 2011 at 11:36 am

    This will probably sound lame, but I have a blanket that I have had since I was 5 or 6. I sleep with it everynight and I am now 19 years old. It is comfortable and has sentimental value since my grandmom made it herself.


Leave a Reply

Authors


