My new hobby

When I was younger I never would have thought that I would end up being interested in photography. However, when my friends and family started telling me how good I was at taking pictures, I got the idea to get a DSLR (digital single reflex lens) camera. These cameras are the ones used by professional photographers. Every since I told my mother that I wanted a camera and had decided which one I was going to get, I anticipated my camera arriving in the mail. The anticipation alone made me feel alot happier. I had a horrible year and it was nice to know that I would be getting SOMETHING that would make me happy. When I finally got it, I immediately starting taking pictures and from then on I had a hobby. Now I go out and take pictures around campus and its something that I really enjoy. I highly recommend trying photography if you are looking for a fun, creative hobby to take up.

These are some of my recent pictures:

IMG_1003

IMG_2674

IMG_2689

5 Responses to “My new hobby”


  1. 1 eglundberg May 15, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    These pictures are really great! I know a lot of people don’t think it takes much to take a picture, but there is an incredible amount of technique behind it all. You need the right angle, the right lens, and pretty much you have to have the right eye for it. I also recommend photoshopping in addition to photography. My younger sister does not have as fancy of a camera as you, but she has a really nice one and photoshops all the pictures she takes. It’s really neat to see how a computer program can pull the colors in a picture out more to emphasize and exaggerate them. I wish I could photoshop, but I am definitely not that computer savvy!

  2. 2 alilogue May 16, 2011 at 12:19 am

    i really like these pictures, especially the railroad one. i wuold suggest putting up more. i see photography as a big stress reliever because you honestly dont know what you have around you until you capture the moment..

  3. 3 thesmitty21 May 16, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    I’ve always found high quality photos interesting. Just some of the shots that are taken are amazing. The angles and colors are so cool. If i was ever patient enough I’d love to do some of my own. Maybe when I’m retired sitting around doing nothing I’ll try it

  4. 4 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    I love the idea of using creativity for stress relief. I am a huge crafter and enjoy losing myself in a project. I actually have three huge scrapbooks full of pictures I have put together.

    These pictures are great! I would love to see more.

  5. 5 mwillsey May 16, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    First of all, your photos are awesome! And second, it’s funny that you mention this becuase I have actually started to do the same thing. I got a DSL for Christmas since I kept taking the camera that my parents used. I absolutely love it and I love taking pictures. It is definatley very theraputic for me if I’m in a stressed or bad mood. I find it really neat to not only use my camera to make some beautiful photography (when it all works out) but it is also really neat to just wander around and specifically look for things that would make a great composition. I’m also a artist, and have painted and sketched, but this is a whole new type of art for me and I love it as well. Keep up the photography! They are really neat!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


