Stress and Movie Preference

A series of stressful events occurred last week and spilled into my weekend. Because of this I was extremely sad, so I decided to watch a movie. Typically, I thoroughly enjoy romanic films such as The Notebook, Titanic, pretty much any mushy tear-jerker out there. Instead when I was in search of a movie, I instantly looked for either adventure films or comedies. It wasn’t until a few days ago that I realized that my typical movie preference is completely different than my movie preferences under stress. I wondered why… Obviously the conntection between the comedic films and stress relief made perfect sense when we think of the theraputic benefits of laughter. After a long debate trying to understand why I like adventure films and how they related to stress (and failed google searches); I decided to conclude that it really doesn’t matter about the reason. The most important thing is that, whatever your choice may be, it is WORKING to take that little edge off of you and make you feel better!

After all, isn’t the whole beauty of relieving stress that the things that take the edge off are various and multitudinous?

Does anyone have any “odd” stress relievers that they can’t find a scientific reason as to why it relieves their stress but it just DOES?
film

2 Responses to “Stress and Movie Preference”


  1. 1 kristenlyon May 14, 2011 at 9:56 am

    This would make an interesting RATS study!

  2. 2 mdpacifico May 17, 2011 at 2:59 am

    I definitely see a connection between how stressed I’m feeling and the types of movies I watch. When I’m stressed out about something I like to watch romantic comedies, while when I’m not stressed I typically enjoy dramas. So I guess when I’m stressed the last thing I want to add more to my life is drama!


Leave a Reply

Authors


