Osama no Longer!!!

Sunday, May 1 , 2011 will absolutely go down as one of the most historical days in the history of the United States.  The news that Osama bin Laden was finally, after ten years, hunted down and killed.  I literally sat for hours and was completely shocked and jubilant at the news.  The man who conducted the biggest terrorist attack against the United States on September 11, 2001 was finally dead.  Instantly I began to replay 9/11 in my head and thought about this as a a flashbulb memory as we have discussed in our class.  I knew right away that May 1, 2011 will no doubt be a flashbulb memory for myself.  I will always remember where I was, who I was with, what I watched on tv.  All the stress Osama had put on the Americans who are afraid to travel or had to buried loved ones who can never be replaced was somewhat avenged.  Yes we are not in the clear, there are still many terrorists out there but this one feels good.  Ahh it was exciting for once to see something positive with so much negativity going on in the world.  It is often cool to see a city united after a sports championship and witness the parade but nothing will ever compare to this.  Not just a city,  not just a town, not just a state, but the ENTIRE country celebrating together.  I still get chills when I think about it.  I am sure I am not the only one who will remember this date as a flashbulb memory.  Where were you guys when you heard the news? Who were you with? What did you do? God Bless America.

9 Responses to “Osama no Longer!!!”


  1. 1 maconheikes May 3, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    The News of Osama Bin Ladens death was shocking and interesting at the same time. The reaction of great patriotism that its drawn out of americans is a good thing but i feel that americans are somewhat split on how they feel about his death. some americans see Osamas death as some sort of revenge but how can we hold bitterness in our hearts toward this person. I feel the death of Osama Bin laden should be praised for the ideas he represented dying. Bin Laden represented the leadership of the taliban and terrorist fear we lived under. In a some way that cloud has been lifted and we can feel that justice is served. But its not about the death of osama but of the death of what he represented that the day should be remembered for.

  2. 2 lorenjn May 3, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    May 1, 2011 will definitely be a day that many remember. It’s a huge milestone that we have reached as a country. Yesterday I spoke to a close friend that I have in the marines who is stationed in Afghanistan and he was describing to me the celebration that he and his crew had. They see this as a huge victory, which it is; however, their work is not complete. Like is was said in the blog, there are many more terrorists out there and although Osama Bin Laden is dead, there are still many more to destroy.
    A Second thought that I have on this topic is that I dont think that Osama Bin LAden deserved death- it was an easy way out. I think it would have been much more satisfying to capture him, try to get some answers from him.

  3. 3 eglundberg May 4, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    9/11 was seriously one of the most terrible days our country has been through. I can’t believe that this terrible man is finally dead. He definitely deserved it after everything. Seriously, I don’t know if anyone remembers on Nickelodeon those pop-sickle people who would pretend to be the twin towers, but I remember on that day thinking that they were gone. I also had a lot of family in D.C. and New York so that day was very terrifying for my entire family.
    When I found out that Osama was dead I was so happy. I was on facebook and everyone’s statuses were saying how he was dead and posting videos. I was in the library when I found out, and when I was leaving all these cars were driving and screaming out of the windows “YEA AMERICA, OBAMA KILLED OSAMA!!!!” it was really neat to see everyone come together even though it was about the death of someone. However, he definitely deserved it!!

  4. 4 thesmitty21 May 8, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    9/11 will always be a day that we as Americans will remember. I remember sitting in my 5th grade class watching everything going on with the news. I think that was when I really felt my sense of patriotism. Sitting there at 11 years old not being able to do anything but watched sucked.
    I’m pretty sure we all felt good about finding out that we had finally killed Osama. The only thing that bothers me is that with all the madness in the world, there is always someone just as bad if not worse ready to step up and keep the madness going.

  5. 5 alexleigh6 May 9, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I really am proud to be an American, and that America stood up against the war on terrorism and found Ossama. However, I was a little dissapointed at the extreme of people’s reactions. I know the complete horror of 9/11 and I firsthand experienced this tragedy being from New York and having a loved one pass away because he was a policman saving the lives of others in the Twin Towers. Believe me, I wanted revenge just as much as our whole Country. However, it says in the Bible that we should never rejoice in teh falling of our enemies, even though he was one of the most hated men in our Country.

  6. 6 katemaddox May 9, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    I felt a mixture of emotions after hearing this news. It is strange to celebrate the death of a man – not matter who he is. 9/11 was indeed a horrific act of violence. That is one flashbulb memory that remains in my mind. I was sitting in a history class and our teacher pulled a TV into the room. I was confused and overwhelmed by the emotions. I didn’t really realize how horrible it actually was until later on – when I heard the stories of innocent people loosing their lives. I read an interesting article about one of Osama’s son, Omar, who wrote about his father and what it was like growing up with a man who was WANTED all over the world. He said that growing up with his father was difficult, because he wanted to be close to him but never got the attention that any little boy needs. I encourage everyone to search for Omar Bin Laden’s story online from his childhood…it seems as though Bin Laden was a normal dad, who loved his children, but did not always show it…because he was involved with war and terror.

  7. 7 kristenlyon May 10, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    The reactions people have given to the death of Bin Laden vary among many. There are those who are completely excited and showing immense levels of patriotism because of one man who single-handedly changed the future of the United States. There are others who are skeptical of the entire situation. Is it coincidence that he was “killed” right after Obama announced he would be running for re-election in 2012? Obama is the government and is perfectly capable of having the “DNA” match. The body being dumped before anyone could actually see it does not help the situation. Then, of course, there are those who feel sorrowful about the situation. These are the people who feel for the troops and there families, who were told they would be home immediately in 2008 after Obama was elected into presidency. These people want the troops home now that the number 1 terrorist is dead. As for myself, I fall into all three of these categories, for one reason or another. Mostly, I disagree with the death of Bin Laden. I don’t believe that death or suffering is ever the right answer. An eye for an eye does not put anyone on top. What happened on September 11 is truly devastating and clearly will have everlasting effects, and maybe it is naive of me but I believe in peace. There will always be someone who hates Americans or Islamic people, death and revenge is not the answer. While it is respectful to think of those who lost their lives and the suffering of their family members and the justice that they deserve, no one is thinking of the family of Bin Laden. He had a wife, children, grand-children. There could have, should have been another way.

  8. 8 rmb2 May 10, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    I honestly feel proud to be an American also. As a nation we were sucker punched to the ground. As a nation we rose back up to fight the evil that had committed terrorist attacks against our country. Killing thousands of innocent lives is a ridiculous act no matter how much you despise some country.

    When the nation heard the news of Osama Bin Ladins death I believe everyone was stunned about the news. The news came from no where. Many people were excited to hear about the death of one of the most ruthless killers known to the United States. 9-11 was a terrible day in the United States, and the mastermind from those attacks is now dead.

  9. 9 treyh43 May 12, 2011 at 12:24 am

    While reading your blog I all of the sudden thought about how much stress Osama must have gone through for these years. He went into hiding and had to change his appearance so that people wouldn’t find him. I know for me, when I’m trying to avoid a person that is hard enough, but trying to avoid thousands of people, I think that has to be stressful.


Leave a Reply

Authors


