Library vs. Your Room?

With exams coming up soon, I have been spending a decent amount of time in the library because it seems like the studious thing to do. But I have noticed that I seem to not get as much work done in the library than I do in my own room. When I go to the library I usually go with a couple of friends, and we go sit upstairs in a group study room. It seems like the perfect situation to get a lot of work done in a timely manner, but I seem to get antsy about what else is going on outside of our study room. My friends call me crazy for saying I cannot get work done in that study room, but I can’t. Being in a secluded room makes me feel trapped and more stress to get my work done. Another problem I seem to have with the library is that it is too quiet for me, I am one of those people that need noise and action around them in able to study. Music doesn’t always help because I like to hear natural conversations between people and natural noises, that’s why I seem to get more work done in my room. Because I can hear people in the hall coming and going to and from class, conversing in the hall, I can hear the construction and I can get comfortable. I have yet to find someone with the same study habits as me so, that’s why I thought I would blog about it!

9 Responses to “Library vs. Your Room?”


  1. 1 eglundberg May 15, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    I disagree with you on this one. I feel that the library is a great place to get work done. If I do work in my room there are way too many distractions.. I’ll have the tv in front of me and accessible food and I just cannot concentrate. When I’m in the library I am able to focus more and shut myself up in one of the single study rooms. It makes me feel like I have to get work done, so then I do!

  2. 2 alilogue May 16, 2011 at 12:31 am

    i agree with nora, my room is like a trap. if i go to the library i have nothing better than to do than actualy do what i came for. if im going to walk to the library im going to do my work and get if over with. being in my room i have my roomate, my hall mates, tv, music, food, bed, anything but peace and quiet. as much as i would rather stay in my room than go to the library i know i will not get as much accomplished, i would hear everyone else being loud and i would want to join in rather then be coped up doin work. but you gotta do what you gotta do

  3. 3 thesmitty21 May 16, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    I usually dont go to the library because it just turns into me talking to everyone and making jokes. I get more done in my room or the quiet room in our hall. My roommate has been working alot more this semester so I’ve been able to get more done there. The library is more of a play area for me. Not a favorite study place.

  4. 4 ksdavis04 May 16, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I’m kind of half and half with this one. When I need to study, I do better in my room, but when I need to write a paper I have to be in the library.
    I’ve learned that I associate my room with sleeping and relaxation. Its hard for me to get alot of work done their regardless of what I’m doing.

  5. 5 carimalakoff May 16, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    When I need to do schoolwork or study, I need to be in a secluded and quiet place in which there will be no distractions or people around me. I tend to do work in the dining room of my apartment in which none of my roommates frequent very much because it allows me to stay focused without distractions. If I am in the den area, it is hard to stay on task and also have the distraction of the television or people talking. In terms of going to the library, I also sometimes have a hard time focusing there as well whenever I am in the study room with others. Instead, I isolate myself in the library in which I pick a place in which is cornered off and away from everyone else. For instance, I go upstairs all the way in the back in which not a lot of people are. I have tried to do work in the middle of the library and downstairs, but have found that it is noisy and doesn’t allow me to be fully focused. Finding a good study area is hard, and for me, it means finding a secluded place in which it is only me and the schoolwork I need to complete.

  6. 6 maconheikes May 16, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    I feel like the library is good in certain circumstances. I can work well in the library when its not completely mobbed like it is around exam time or when im not with friends. i like the library when there are few people there and i can have all my work laid out in front of me. but otherwise i dont find any difference in how much i get done, its just a matter of not letting yourself get distracted.

  7. 7 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    I am definitely a person that works better in my room. Whenever I go to the library I always get extrememly distracted by everyone and I end up talking to everyone. When I am in my room I can focus because I have my own cleared space. Another thing I think helps is my roommate is extremely studious. Whenever we are working together the room is really quiet and the atmosphere is perfect for working.

  8. 8 mdpacifico May 17, 2011 at 2:51 am

    I definitely get more work done in my room compared to the library. When I go to the library I always find myself socializing rather than doing work. And I also find it a waste of time walking to the library when I have all the resources I need to do my work right there in my room. Going to the library also stresses me out because I feel like every time I go I always end up forgetting something in my room.

  9. 9 jzentz May 17, 2011 at 11:32 am

    I agree with you. I can’t get work done in the library either. It turns into social hour with my friends as we share youtube videos and talk the whole time. I can manage to get a little bit more work done in my room than I can in the library.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


