The Future

We are now in our last week of classes, and finals are approaching. Graduation is right around the corner. It is hard to believe that I will be dressed in a cap and gown in only a few short weeks. With this thought – comes the ultimate stressor…what will my future hold? For many of us – whether we are nearing our last days of school, or contemplating our dream job in the middle of class- the thought of being independent and entering the working world is stressful. Being an Art major, can be overwhelming. Where do I take this degree? Do I want to go into advertising? Fashion? Design? Media? There are so many options – but how do I narrow it down? Is Graduate School the way to go? Or, should I try out a few jobs and see what interests me the most?

Taking the first step into the ‘real world’, I believe, will be the hardest part – not to mention the ‘letting go’ of the routine schedule we have been accustomed to for years in school. What am I the most afraid of concerning my future? Is it the fact that I am growing old, or not knowing what I want to do with my remaining years? Am I afraid that I won’t land my dream job, or find a career that I am passionate about? Or, what if I never get hired? What if nobody see’s the potential in me – that I see in myself? The answer – all of the above. It’s hard to grow up and grasp the concept of letting go of the familiar and diving into the future. A lot of risk is involved.

However, In some ways, I see myself as very lucky. I have a clean slate ahead of me. I can control my future and what it is that I want to accomplish. I may not know what it is that I am interested in now – but maybe that is the fun part. The planning, the searching, the wonder….of what lies ahead. Perhaps this ‘unknown’ is my palette, and I must paint my future with every bright color that I deserve. I see a bright, promising, and happy life ahead!

6 Responses to “The Future”


  1. 1 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    I read this blog and I can understand exactly how you feel. Graduation is so soon, and it is both exciting and terrifying. I have a plan for next year, but it is still cloudy. I don’t have a job yet, because I don’t know my class schedule yet. Being in this limbo is the worst.

    I am looking forward to the future, but I am scared that everything won’t pan out. I guess this can all be considered a new adventure for all of us!

  2. 2 carimalakoff May 16, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    I completely agree with this post and comment above. It is hard to believe that this is my last week of undergraduate school ever. I never believed when people would tell me just when I was entering my freshman year how fast college goes until these past couple of weeks. I remember coming to school anxious and nervous without knowing anyone and as to what my future would entail. Four years later in which I will be graduating in a little more than a week, I find myself now nervous in which I have still not heard from graduate school. It leaves me feeling anxious and stress in not knowing whether or not I got into the one graduate school I applied to. “The Future” is definitely a scary time in which it is an “unknown” for me at this point as to what I will be doing, but it also leads me to thinking that I have accomplished four years of college and am off to pursue my career choice as a guidance counselor.

  3. 3 mwillsey May 16, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    As a freshman, I still have 3 more years to really decide, but all the same, I’m being pressured from all sides about what my major is, what I’m going to do with my life, and who I am going to grow up to be. I mean, really people, I am only 19. I’ve got a long (hopefully) life ahead of me to decide what makes me happy and what I want to do with my life. While of course I do not what to spend my whole college career not knowing what I want to do with myself, I do have a bit of time before I have to know what I am going to do with the rest of my life. The future is ahead of me and it needs to just relax and come to me as it will, not as everyone is forcing it to come. And to the seniors, good luck in the ‘outside’ world!

  4. 4 danielledheron May 17, 2011 at 1:29 am

    This post hit way too close to home. All these years I thought that I couldn’t wait to graduate but now that it is here, I am panicked. The stress of wondering where I will be able to find a job, if I will be able to find a job, is overwhelming. It seems as if all the predictability of life has disappeared. I think the unknown is more stressful than anything else. The one thing that gets me through is that I truly believe that everything happens for a reason, and I have faith that I will end up where I am meant to be.

  5. 5 eglundberg May 17, 2011 at 2:02 am

    The future is something that is something I hate thinking about. I am only in freshman in college, but this year is ending. Where did it all go?! I feel like I just graduated from high school. Also, I come from a big family and now whenever I go home it just seems emptier and emptier.. I don’t want to leave my family and grow up. This seems childish but at times the only thing I wish is to be young again and not have a care at all in the world. Being a kid was so easy and I definitely did not cherish that time enough.
    However, the future is inevitable and all we can do is keep moving forward and grasp everything that comes our way with the best mind-set.

  6. 6 rmb2 May 17, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    as a rising junior I am already feeling the pressures of not knowing what i want to do in life. I dont know what I am going to major in or what classes to take. Each year comes and goes so quickly you dont even know whether you are doing the right thing for yourself or not. the future is a major stressor in most peoples lives.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


