Tornadoes!!!

Last Thursday was an eventful day, as we were all enjoying our Psychobiology class when Professor Franssen alerted us that there was a Tornado in the area and campus activities were cancelled.  Myself and the rest of the class all rushed back to our dorms.  The storm got pretty bad pretty quick but fortunately nothing serious happened at Randolph Macon or close by.  However, those down in Alabama and areas surrounding were not as lucky.  Talking to my friend who goes there, she sounded absolutely devastated and said everything was destroyed.  The rest of the school year was cancelled as 80 people died.  Just a terrible, terrible tragedy.  It reminds me of how lucky we were.  Despite this brief scare here, a lot of people got stressed out.  Campus Safety was frantically driving around with their megaphone telling people what to do in order to keep everybody safe.   I personally was not too stressed during the storm but am curious is anybody else was? I cannot imagine the devastation and stress of those in Alabama who have to bury loved ones or rebuild their homes.  Everything inside completely gone forever. It really puts things into perspective.

9 Responses to “Tornadoes!!!”


  1. 1 lorenjn May 3, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Thursday was so stressful! It wasn’t just the issue of a tornado hitting campus, but the stress of missing class and dealing with making up the missed work. Also, storms in general I find to bring some kind of stressors.

  2. 2 thesmitty21 May 8, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    I guess our video just struck me that Thursday becasue I was outside getting yelled at during the storm. Apparently most people were in basements, while me and some of my buddies were outside trying to see a tornado. Yes probably one of a dumber ideas but we werent scared of the storm and wanted to see one in real life. I wouldnt say were stupid just risk takers.

  3. 3 klew23 May 8, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    I actually had a test that day, and I was kind of hoping it would be postponed due to the weather. Unfortunately, I took the test as scheduled, but the chance of not having to take that test relieved a lot of stress. Also getting out of class early felt pretty good, because it created a little leisure time between classes for me. The storm itself really had no effect on me.

  4. 4 alexleigh6 May 9, 2011 at 9:40 am

    I personally thought that the reaction of campus safety and the staff was a little overboard, and was a perfect example of what people are doing to make themselves overstressed. I completely understand the importance of getting out of a storm, but when the storm was not bad at all to the point of an actual tornado hitting our campus, it just makes me wonder why people get themselves so worked up. Even the staff at the Brown Center who yanked me in on my way to my room were ruthless. People were being unnecessarily rude and telling me what I could and could not do. If a situation comes up like that, I am more than able to make decisions for myself and was very taken back that I was being forced into doing anything when all I was doing was walking an extra 10 yards to my room.

  5. 5 katemaddox May 9, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Wow, that day was hectic! I was nervous at first because it all seemed to happen so fast – there were students who paid no mind to it, but others who were running across campus. Campus safety also began to walk through campus with airhorns and megaphones, which also caused people to be a little reluctant as to how serious it was – it did seem like it went overboard…you’re right, alex. Although, I think they wanted to take those precautions and be sure we were safe, just is case anything were to happen. I know someone who goes to Alabama – and actually lost friends from the horrible storm they had a few weeks ago. It is so tragic – that every school should take that extra precaution for their students.

  6. 6 danielledheron May 9, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    I personally get really freaked out by major storms, especially ones that involve tornados. So for me Thursday and the days prior were very stressful and involved a lot of worrying. If I wasn’t worrying about the weather I was worrying about getting asbestos poisoning from being in the basement during storm warnings (yes, I realize now that this is slightly irrational). One of the main ways I handled this stress was joking and laughing with my friends and others that were around. Being able to “make light” of the situation helped to ease my tension a little bit. However, for those that suffered the devastation caused by the storms there is not much to “make light” of and I can only imagine the stress that now fills their lives.

  7. 7 rmb2 May 9, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    Thursday was very stressful for me because no only did I get stuck in the basement of COPLEY for 20 minutes! but it has also gotten me very nervous about my house here off campus. The I also became nervous for all of my friends, thinking the tornado was going to go right through campus. I was also enjoying the movie that we were watching, and it really got my attention, and in one way or another, i was rather mad that the class had been cancelled.

  8. 8 carleymclellon May 10, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    I agree that day was stressful! We are very fortunate nothing serious happened! My friend here on campus had her town ripped apart a couple weeks ago by the tornadoes that went through Deltaville! Extremely sad event but even more stressful for the families who are homeless now.

  9. 9 treyh43 May 12, 2011 at 12:26 am

    I will agree that, that was a very stressful class. Never in my wildest dreams did I think that the hundreds of drills that I had gone through in my past schooling would ever help me until then. That day was very stressful for me since I went into the basement where I had little signal and was trying to call my parents to make sure they were ok. Its nothing like trying to make sure someone is ok and your call going straight to voicemail.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


