Sick For Class? DON’T DO IT!

Im sure many of you can completely agree with this title of this blog.  Especially for upper level classes that are for your major, it is impossible to miss class.  Not only is it a terrible idea because it puts you behond academically, but it puts you behind with the professor.  I know many professors out there will say that you get two or so free misses and it won’t count off for your grade; however, we all know that it is kept in the back of their heads who has missed and who has never missed a class at all.  For example, in my anatomy and physiology class, 6 people were absent for class the other day.  My professor emailed all of is, even those who were in class, a wanted poster for the people who had missed that day.  Also, the other day in my lab my professor came up to me and asked if I had missed any classes.  I replied no and he answered back with a sigh of relief and a very firm, “good”.  Although the syllabus says there is a free day to miss if you are on your death bed, everyone knows that if you want to stay on his good side, you better attend every single class and make sure he knows that you are there.  Not being able to miss classes is extremely stressfuli; when I know that I’m sick and I have an important class that day, I start to freak out because I know I should go to the class but if I’m sick than it does me no good.  This sends me in another loop of stress which doesn’t make me feel better and actually makes me even more sick. causing me to potentially miss more days.  Basically, if you’re sick, you better suck it up and go to class or there will be more consequences than just not feeling well for a day. 

This is the email that my professor sent all of us…

View Wanted Po...jpg in slide show

7 Responses to “Sick For Class? DON’T DO IT!”


  1. 1 psychphil90 April 27, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    It is these times where I wish I was at a bigger school where a teacher would not notice if you were not there. You should always go to class but sometimes you are too sick or just need some extra sleep. As long as it doesn’t become skipping, it probably does a lot of good every once in a while.

  2. 2 eglundberg May 1, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    There seriously is nothing worse than being sick. It’s really hard that one morning when you wake up and feel like you are about to die, but honestly for me most of the time when I get up and moving I start to feel a lot better. It’s not worth it to miss a class that you’re struggling in or will miss out on valuable information for being sick. Thankfully we’re in college and can now roll out of bed go to class usually for an hour, and then go back to bed. I know it high school it would be really hard getting through the day when I was sick at school, but it’s a form of comfort knowing that as soon as the class is over you can go crawl back in bed!

  3. 3 lorenjn May 2, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    It is definitely hard to go to class when you are feeling under the weather; however, it is imperative that you attend class. I know that everyone has those days where you really just do not feel like sitting in a class room, especially during the last couple of weeks when the weather has been gorgeous! I have learned that it is really not worth it to skip or miss class, because you miss so much! I kind of agree with Phil’s comment that those who attend large universities are able to miss classes and their professors don’t even notice, although they are not able to form the same relationships with their professors as we are.

  4. 4 klew23 May 8, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    I definitely agree with this post. Finding and completing makeup work is a drag! Also knowing or thinking you missed something important is always in the back of your mind when you miss class. I agree with Phil about the larger school thing, it has to make a big difference. I also appreciate professors that let class out early sometimes more than those that don’t, because it makes attending class a lot less stressful.

  5. 5 thesmitty21 May 9, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    I know that missing classes is never an option for me. I have been blessed that I haven’t been seriously sick in years. One of the other reasons I dont miss class is because of football. Not only do our coaches to random class checks, but our head coach says we can’t miss class unless were in the hospital or dead. I laugh because yes it might be extreme but it definatly helps to be in class all the time. Like you said, professors like those that don’t miss class alot more. I have found that some professors do favor and help those that don’t or rarely miss class.

  6. 6 carimalakoff May 10, 2011 at 12:16 am

    I completely agree. Even if I have a terrible cold or feeling very sick, I still go to class because I am always worried I will miss something important. Even though many teachers have the 3 days or less rule in which you can miss class without taking any penalties, I can honestly say I have hardly ever taken advantage of that. I feel that it is just best to go to class rather than worry about having to make up something or not having the proper notes needed to study no matter how sick I have felt or how much I really did not want to go to that particular class. I also agree that at least most classes are only for an hour or two, and you are able to come back, go to sleep, relax in hopes of feeling better and not having to worry about missing class.

  7. 7 treyh43 May 12, 2011 at 12:37 am

    This is spot in. In many of my upper elective classes I could not imagine missing a day. You go through so much material it feels like missing a day puts you weeks behind everyone. I think that the worse part is trying to ask help from your professor when you missed a class because you were sick. Sometimes professors are not very understanding of students not feeling very well.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


