Stress and relationships

        Stress is something that we see as internal and though it affects how we feel it may also affect how others around us feel. When we are under a great deal of stress we tend to be antisocial or passive around those they normally are happy and open around. So this bothers them and they feel as though they dont matter when really they are unaware they are acting the way they are. When we stress we neglect even the ones we love. When stressed we fail to realize the importance of certain things to others. I remember one instance of this. It was may of my Junior year in high school and my first year of prom was looming i had a playoff baseball game that saturday and prom was that same night. i was so stressed about the arrangements for prom and preparing for my big game that i didnt realize that sunday was mothers day and i had forget to get a gift or card. The card or gift was not what was most important to my mom it was that i was thinking of her on her day. i ran out late that sunday morning to pick up a card but it was late. I let the stress i was under take control of my whole state of mind and was not thinking of how important this was to my mother. I try to make an effort to show appreciation for my mom any chance i can especially now that i am rarely home and am away at college.

5 Responses to “Stress and relationships”


  1. 1 alexleigh6 April 26, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    I totally agree that stress has a huge impact on relationships. I know that whenever I am stressed out I am almost always irritable and snap at anyone with whatever chance I get. This has a very big impact on my relationships not only with my friends and family but also with my boyfriend. When I am stressed, he is usually the first one to know because I am not in a good mood and when he says something that wouldnt bother me a different day, I give him an attitude and then we get in a fight. If people could learn to control their stress more, than their relationships would benefit greatly.

  2. 2 eglundberg April 27, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    I definitely agree! Stress has a huge impact on me and the relationships I’m in. Whenever I find myself stressed out about schoolwork or just anything in general I am not a very pleasant person to be around. I usually also snap at people which I really don’t mean to, but you know when that person just says the wrong thing at the wrong time it’s definitely hard to contain yourself. I wish that we could control ourselves better to not lash out at the ones we love when we are stressed or upset, but let’s be real, we’re human and that’s out nature.

  3. 3 Laura May 1, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    This is an attention-grabbing topic because we all deal with stress and its effects on our relationships. Recently, I have been under much more stress than ever before and it’s been very difficult to keep it all together. Because of the piles of work I have to take care of and the last events coming up for my undergraduate career, I’m having a hard time feeling ok about things and I’ve been worried that I won’t be able to make it through the next few weeks. I’ve expressed to my significant other how important is for me to have his support during this stressful time, but at the same time he is going through some stressful times himself. This makes it even more difficult because it forces both of us to be in not-so-pleasant situations. Due to the increase in our stress levels and pressures surrounding us, we have been having more conversations to help us get through this. It’s been a time for us to be even more honest about things and we are trying to express our emotions and worries in a healthy manner so that we don’t explode on each other for little things. As I keep reading our class book, Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers, it has helped me to realize all the different psychological and physical things that happen during stress and thankfully it has allowed me to stay focus on finishing this semester and trying to take breaks to be ok through it all.

  4. 4 alilogue May 3, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    i also think that stress has an impact on relationships, i also think that relationships are a cause of stress.

  5. 5 danielledheron May 9, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    I agree that stress definitely influences our relationships, but more importantly how we deal and manage stress influences our relationships. For some of us managing our stress can be a real challenge. With graduation coming up, keeping up with school work, and working at a job 30 hours a week puts me under a lot of stress and very little free time to deal with that stress adequately. The result is me being exhausted and for a lack of better words cranky. I often have to check myself when I am talking to my family or boyfriend at the end of the day because I often am irritable and short even though I may not realize it. So it takes a great deal of self awareness and control in order to keep my stress from impacting my relationships in negative ways.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


