Sudoku as a stress reliever?

For the past couple of days I have been under a lot of stress whether it’s from trying to find a job for next year, schoolwork, or helping out coaching the football team. I have recently found myself playing a lot of sudoku, on my new phone, to relieve my stress. I have not been able to put my finger on the exact reason that sudoku relieves my stress, I mean there are many possible reasons. It could be that the amusement of trying to solve a puzzle helps me relax and forget about the things that were causing me to be stressed out. It could also be the sense of accomplishment that I receive after I complete a level in a new personal best time or I complete a puzzle without making a mistake. Both of these are possible reasons why sudoku may be helping me relieve stress, but what I do know is that as long as playing sudoku helps me from being stressed out, the more I am going to continue playing it.

8 Responses to “Sudoku as a stress reliever?”


  1. 1 Marianna Wills April 11, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    I love doing sudoku, but there are a lot of times that I really don’t have enough time to do them. But when I can, it definatley helps me relieve my stress because they are just single simple puzzles that I can solve, feel acomplished, and move on. They don’t cuase problems or drama, and they always have a logical answer. The process of trying to figure out that answer is what is so fun. Furthermore, sudokus arn’t related to anything I am currently studying so I can step away from my hectic world and step into that one. One of my friends does a sudoku every day at night before he goes to bed and that relaxes him from his long days. He has gotten really good by now, and I am thinking of doing the same thing. Probably not every night, but I know that since it helps me relax, it would be a good, helpful habit.

  2. 2 lorenjn April 13, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    I find it to be really interesting that you find sudoku relaxing and find it to be a personal stress relief for yourself. I have not completed a sudoku puzzle in years, but I can recall getting very frustrated when I would get stuck. As a result of getting stuck, I would get all worked up over and therefore it would cause stress. Another thought I have is that you were able to find a stress relief in something that you enjoy doing, but also did not begin as a way to relieve your stress.

  3. 3 maconheikes April 18, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    I cannot say from personal expieriences that sudoku lowers stress levels but i do know family members that play the game. A game is all sudokuu is its not life and death. Though its a game its stiil takes a lot of focus and id say activates a good stress response. It may be frustrating for awhile till you find the solution but when you do find the solution its a relief. But its should be only played if that is your type of game a mind challenge.

  4. 4 alexleigh6 May 9, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Thats great that you found a way to relieve your stress; I am just cautioning you not to spend too much time doing this rather than getting work done especially with finals coming up. While it is helping you relieve stress now, it might increase your stress level if you realize that all that time on the game took you away from getting much needed work done. If not, keep on with relieving your stress!

  5. 5 klew23 May 9, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    This is interesting, because now that you have brought it to my attention, sudoku definitely is a way to get in the zone and forget everything. It’s funny that something so time and thought consuming can relieve stress.

  6. 6 rmb2 May 10, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    I can completely see why sudoku is a stress reliever for you personally. For me i could never do that, in fact I become furious when doing sudoku because I was never brought up playing the game. I have no clue how to play, I have never learned how to play. It is just one of those things that you hate because you cant complete them. I know most of you are thinking that is embarrassing but really i have just never really tried to learn the game, and how to play. Its kind of like a rubix cube, i bet many of you have played on those. yet you still dont look up the moves to beat the entire game.

    I find it interesting that sudoku is a stress reliever. Personally I enjoy completing puzzles to relax.

  7. 7 eglundberg May 11, 2011 at 12:33 am

    I can also see how Sudoku works as a stress-reliever for you. I have tried to play this game before, but just get frustrated with it. My mom always plays the cross-word puzzles in the daily newspaper and this is what it reminds me of. I can so frustrated with these types of puzzles so I could never do it.
    For me, coloring is a great stress reliever. Just seeing colors and coloring in a coloring book is a great way to act like a kid again and become more calm.

  8. 8 kiki October 13, 2011 at 11:06 am

    it only makes me more stress, i don’t get how you can do it!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


