Feeling Blue?

I was wondering how many of you are feeling homesick at this time? I know I am very homesick right about now, the time between just coming back from being home on spring break and almost nearing the end of the semester. I know that eating comfort foods can reduce stress, but you can’t eat forever! I am trying to deal with this stress by being connected with home, calling regularly, looking at pictures, sending emails etc. But it just seems that nothing I do is easing the desire to be reunited with my family again, I miss them so much! So, of course I have been turning to the comfort foods, which have been providing temporary relief.. WHILE I am packing on the pounds! What to do, what to do! A number of my friends have stated that they often go through the same issue of turning to comfort foods to relieve stress, but then in turn gaining weight, and being even more stressed about the weight gain- in addition to the previous stressor – NOT GOOD! So, I did a little research and stumbled on this article about How Not to Eat Your Feelings. I am sure many will find this helpful, I know I have!
eating

3 Responses to “Feeling Blue?”


  1. 1 eglundberg May 2, 2011 at 12:14 am

    This was posted about a month ago, but I totally agreed with it at that time. Right after spring break all I wanted to do was go home and just be with my family!! It was really hard being in school and trying to get through all my school work. I found that working out worked for me to not be so stressed, and I would always feel so much happier afterwards.

    This article you posted though was really interesting. I thought that the scale was really neat. The scale was interesting considering how you can determine if you really should eat or not. It should help a lot of people with the harsh effects of over-eating.

  2. 2 alilogue May 3, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    i think everyone feels like they want to leave again after being home. i think it feels weird to be home now, almost like i dont belong there anymore. i cant wait for this school year to be over but i was just told were moving out of the house that i have been in since i was 2 and im not looking forward to it..i dont wanna move have to make all new friends and start over..i cant imagine living any different then i do now..im nervous for the end of this year and whats to come.

  3. 3 alexleigh6 May 9, 2011 at 10:13 am

    I can completely agree with this, and it can be very dangerous! What I try to do is whenever I am feeling very homesick or just sad and need a good cry, I try going on a run while listening to music instead. The combination of listening to music while running and getting my emotions out helps me feel a million times better; at the same time Im not going to estes and eating the whole buffet line!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


