Acne and stress

I’m sure by now we have all experienced at least one break out. Have you ever noticed that during finals or some other time of serious stress that we have a breakout? Well acne isn’t cause by stress, but stress can worsen the symptoms of your break out. “Stress not only affects acne flare-up, in general it worsens the overall skin condition. It induces the adrenal glands into overproduction of cortisol, a steroid, which in turn makes sebaceous glands produce more oil and make skin extra oily. This the reason why in stressful periods, people experiencing an increase in acne get more inflamed, pus-filled papules than simple white heads or blackheads.” Of course there are all kinds of medicines and creams that you can use to hopefully get rid of your acne, but now you know that most likely you can expect at least one blemish during a stressful time.

http://www.acne-resource.org/understanding-acne/stress.html

6 Responses to “Acne and stress”


  1. 1 psychphil90 April 11, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    This is definitely interesting because as you said, regardless of the products you use, if you are stressed, you will likely experience a breakout. Everyone gets them and they are no fun at all. It is amazing how much stress controls our bodies.

  2. 2 tdheikens April 14, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    This is definitely true. I have found that no matter what I do my face breaks out during a stressful time. They’re bad, but there’s not much we can do about it short of proper hygiene.

  3. 3 carimalakoff April 24, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    I can definitely relate in which I tend to break-out when I am very stressed. I have been lucky in not ever having major acne problems, but starting in high school I have noticed that whenever I am very stressed, I tend to get a pimple or two on my “T-zone.” For instance, a week ago I had a big exam, and I noticed the day on the exam I had a huge pimple form on my chin; whether or not that is coincidental, I’m not sure, but I think my feeling of being stressed out over the exam greatly contributed to the forming of the pimple. I found it very interesting to learn more about how pimples formed from this blog, and how stress can worsen a person’s overall skin condition.

  4. 4 Laura May 1, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    This was very interesting to read because I’ve always wondered why acne gets worse at specific times. Now it makes sense the fact that when we are stressed out our HPA axis gets activated and glucocorticoid hormone increases in our bodies, which then makes other glands to produce other things, including more oil in our skin. The quote you had about “This the reason why in stressful periods, people experiencing an increase in acne get more inflamed, pus-filled papules than simple white heads or blackheads” is good to know; because if I relax more and take breaks more often to reduce my stress, I will not only feel better but also look better. This is definitely a plus because if I look better, people will notice it and I will feel better in return. So is a continuous cycle and it’s comforting to know that I have the control over some aspects of my psychological and physiological self.

  5. 5 eglundberg May 2, 2011 at 12:25 am

    Acne is inevitable. I remember in middle school it was very rare to see any of my friends without it. It was terrible! This article was really interesting talking about how it gets worse at certain times. I thought it was really interesting also as Laura said that if we relax more we’ll look better and be more acne-free! What college student wants acne? That was so middle and high school! Thanks for this article, it has been full of great tips!

  6. 6 lorenjn May 10, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I guess for some people their faces may be affected by acne during stressful times; however, I can not recall a time where I have had a “break-out” during a stressful period- and I feel like I’m stressed all the time! While reading this blog and talking about it with a classmate she brought to my attention that some individuals gene’s has relation to how they react to stress and whether or not acne runs in the family.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


