Walking Alone

Socializing comes easy for most of us. We all have our groups of friends, whether they are the ones we met here at school or the ones we’ve known our entire lives back home, I’m pretty sure it’s safe to say that none of us are friendless.

However, there are moments in life where some of us fall by the wayside and become stuck. Differences with other people, insecurities within ourselves, and occasionally deceit in those we thought we could trust can sometimes lead us into some emotional turmoil.

Social interaction is a vital part of living a healthy life, but it can really be a stressful process. I, for one, had struggled with finding friends all through my first semester here. It wasn’t until J-Term and early Spring semester that I’d finally felt like I was starting to find my place here. Now, as a loner at heart, that didn’t bother me too much. But it makes me wonder how many other people have gone through that same struggle that maybe haven’t been able to handle it so well as I have.

2 Responses to “Walking Alone”


  1. 1 whitneyroberts April 6, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    I can definitely relate. Coming from a different country, it was not very hard to find “acquaintances”. My freshman year I was able to meet a lot of people, it was not very hard as my accent would often spark numerous questions. However, being from a different country, it was hard for me to really find FRIENDS. The cultural differences were the main thing that kept my acquaintances from becoming my friends. It really hasn’t been until this semester that I was able to find a group of wonderful girls with whom I shared the same values and beliefs with. It was definitely hard at first, but worth the wait!

  2. 2 alilogue May 2, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    i agree, i was considering transfering until i was told “do you really want to go through the process of meeting all new people again?” from when i was a baby to about my freshman year in highschool i had my bestfriend who knew me so well that she talked for me because i was so shy. i used to never talk on the phone or talk to people i didnt know. She moved to florida my freshman year of highschool and it changed my world. i never realized how “anti-social” i was. for example when i started my job at age 14 it took me two years to start talking there. but now that i realize i can talk for myself and express my opinion it is much easier to make friends when you are straight forward and truthful. i have learned not to hide behind anything and stay stronge, if someone doesnt like me for me then thats on them i know there is someone out there who truely cares about me as a person, as you should too. everyone has problems here and there and people need to except it, no ones perfect and lifes like a rollercoaster, but we all live it and get through it one way or another. all i have to say is dont hide behind anything and just talk to people it makes it much easier and your college experience will hopefully be much more fun and a better experience then the first semester!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


