Does Weather Really Affect our Mood?

Have you everthought about the weather affecting your mood?  Experiencing these random rainy days we’ve had over the past few weeks, I have realized how much my mood has been changing.  Every time there has been a rainy day, I am more depressed or upset and angry.  However, the nice, sunny weather we have had on occasion I have experienced much more positive feelings.  Am I the only one, or are more people experiencing these mood swings going along with the weather?  I could be in denial, just waiting for spring break to come, but I believe it’s much more than that.  On rainy days like today, that is exactly how I feel.  All I want to do is curl up in bed and sleep.  Why is that?  Why don’t we want to go out and play in the rain like we used to do when we were 5?

Is it really just a decrease in Vitamin-D (which is released from the sun, which usually makes us happy).  It is typical for people to be happier in the summer, but I always assumed it was just because everyone was on vacation.  Could it really be from the increase in Vitamin-D in our lives?  Here is an interesting website that shows a study on weather affecting moods of people.

http://www.webmd.com/balance/news/20081016/how-the-weather-affects-our-moods

7 Responses to “Does Weather Really Affect our Mood?”


  1. 1 WorkingBoomer March 25, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    I really don’t think it affects moods. I just think that people allow their minds to over power them with negative thoughts. Actually curling up in bed sometimes is good. It is a good time to just relax and relieve ourselves of the fast pace that life brings us. Also it is a good time to get things done inside that we have put off. It is important for me on rainy days to stay away from negativity as much as possible. I keep in mind that is something that I can not change and this too shall pass. Thank you for the post.

  2. 2 carimalakoff March 28, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    I completely agree with you! I find that the weather affects my mood sometimes in which on dark and gloomy days I feel sleepy and just wanting to sleep. However, when it is nice, sunny, and warm outside, I feel happy to go outside for the beautiful and warm day. This past weekend over break it was cloudy and rainy and all I wanted to do was be lazy and sleep instead of going out and enjoying a day of my spring break. I found this article really interesting to read in which it describes how the different weather changes do make a person feel a certain way.

  3. 3 maconheikes March 29, 2011 at 12:05 am

    Weather certainly affects our mood. It may be one reason more feel good songs are written about the summer or warm spring days. when it rains we are more likely to be stuck inside and when we do go outside we get wet which leaves us uncomfortable. I also feel like we get an even greater sense of pleasure when its warm and sunny when the season or month we are in makes it unexpected. we also feel more unhappy when there is bad cold grey weather when its a season we associate good weather with. Overall i believe i am in a better mood when the weather is pleasent.

  4. 4 french111 March 29, 2011 at 8:32 am

    I think this depends on what each individual sees as good and bad weather and has a lot to do with perspective. For example in some parts of Alaska it can be dark for the majority of the day. But the residents of Alaska are expecting this and are use to this as being the norm of things and probably have changed to cope with it.

    “In Fairbanks, Alaska, in the dead of winter, less than four hours separate sunrise and sunset. With so little sunlight, it seems like no one could escape winter depression; but in fact, many Alaskans fare just fine. One study found that about 9% of Fairbanks residents had seasonal affective disorder. That’s about the same percentage another study found in New Hampshire.”
    (http://www.webmd.com/depression/features/seasonal-affective-disorder)

    There is also research being done that involves melatonin being the culprit for SAD or even the lack of negative ions in the air being the problem.

    For more info visit:

  5. 5 rmb2 March 30, 2011 at 11:47 am

    I agree with everything you have said. A few days ago it was really gloomy, a sunday morning and it had snowed. Normally on snowy days I am more awake but since this snow was mixed with rain I felt as though the whole entire day was just a daze. I slept throughout most of the day. I woke up at around 8 in the morning to take a glimpse outside of my window. When I awoke to a wintery mix taking place outside my window I decided to see how it was outside. When walking outside to get the paper I became very tired, and decided to lay back in bed. I didnt get up until 3! I felt as though the weather made me more sleepy than normal.

    The weather really made me tired because their was a gloom in the air all day. I felt as though there was nothing else to do except sleep, and since the weather made me feel very tired, I decided to just not even wake up. Rainy days make people more tired than they would on a hot,summer day.

  6. 6 alilogue March 31, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    i do think weather affects our mood.. if its raining your are more likely to become depressed then you would become happy.. the rain slows everything down and leaves you with less to do.. i know i dont like sitting still, i like to be outside and active. If it is sunny im more likely to be happy because i love nice weather, gives you pleanty of things to do and to me it seems to make more people happy.

  7. 7 David Lynch May 17, 2011 at 11:37 am

    I believe that to an extent weather can affect moods, but in general it is a number of other factors that contribute to the mood of an individual.

    The reason for my response to this question is based on a personal experience. Two summers ago I spent the summer working up in Maine. I was working for a landscaping company, and spent nearly 10 hours a day outside on the job, and then even more after work whether it be on a soccer field, in a boat, on a horse, etc… The day I arrived in Maine was beautiful, and so was the next. My first day of work it was about 85 degrees and sunny with a nice ocean breeze coming across the yard… However, over the next two months, almost every day we got rain… a LOT of rain.

    Despite the junky weather, we were still in high spirits most every day and were able to laugh and have a good time at work. We never let the weather get to us. Sometimes it could ruin plans, which would be a bit depressing, but it was never just the weather that changed my mood (and I think I could say that for some of the other employees as well).


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


