Whers’s my iPod!?

Whenever I have an issue in my life I find myself listening to music. Although I like many different types of music, I tend to listen to certain genres depending on the situation, for example; if I have a stressful conflict with my girlfriend, R&B seems to cover the most soothing melodies. These thoughts made me do a little research on whether or not certain genres help relieve specific categories of stress. I considered some of the boxes I checked off while taking the early stress test, and I definitely turned to music when I faced some of the stressors on that list. I also thought about how exercise can help relieve stress, but there is people who dislike going to the gym, or maybe they don’t like exercising as a whole. If someone is opposed to working out, or is not in the mood to endure physical stress, they can listen to music. WHO DOESN’T LIKE MUSIC?

            I also wondered what other factors tied into how music could help relieve stress. While looking into this topic I found that things, such as: the tempo of the music, the mind state of the person trying to relieve stress, and what the person is doing, may tie into the effectiveness of the music relieving stress. I came across these sites while doing research:

http://www.holisticonline.com/stress/stress_music-therapy.htm

http://stress.about.com/od/lowstresslifestyle/a/daily_music.htm

12 Responses to “Whers’s my iPod!?”


  1. 1 Kate March 12, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Music always helps me…at the gym, falling asleep, getting dressed in the morning, doing some homework…
    Music can lift you up, help you fall asleep, or even help you concentrate! I love the thought of “music therapy”. It sounds so wonderful, where can I sign up?!
    The everyday stressors can certainly be fixed with music, I’m sure of it.

  2. 2 psychphil90 March 12, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Music definitely has an affect on the way we feel. Certain songs make us feel happy or sad or give energy. When I go to the gym, if I am listening to up tempo music then I tend to have more energy and push myself harder. When I just want to relax I may listen to something like John Mayer. One thing just about everyone has in common is we all love music.

    • 3 alilogue March 13, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      i agree that music does have an affect on the way you feel.. you just have to listen to the right song, for example if your down i wouldnt suggest country cause they can be sometimes depressing. you just have to look for whats right for you. sooner or later you find yourself relating every song you listen to, to something you care about or like. music can help you when your thinking to much, stressed out, cant sleep, and working out. you just have to have the right type of music to fit your feelings

  3. 4 thesmitty21 March 13, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I find my self listening to music more when I am trying to get ready for a game or lift. I listen to the music just to pump me up. Because I am from Georgia, its a 9 hour drive back home. Thats a long time behind the wheel and I play my ipod to keep me awake. I know some say they listen to music to sleep, but for me I listen to it to wake up or get pumped up

  4. 5 David Lynch March 13, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I think this is a great topic. There are many times every week that I will come back to my room and plug my i-pod into the stereo and jam out for awhile. A major stress reliever for me is physical activity; hitting the gym, a bike ride, soccer, or tennis. However, some stressors are the physical activities. If I play a terrible game or tennis match, working out usually isn’t an option afterwards, and some time by myself with some tunes is a great way to rid of some tension. I am an advocate of instrumentals when I’m down, no lyrics to worry about.

  5. 6 carleymclellon March 14, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    I agree that music helps us deal with stress. I found out after a bad break up that listening to up beat happy music made me feel better while sad soppy music upset me! Now that I feel comfortable listening to all genres I can say I do turn to music to manage my moods and deal with stress.

  6. 7 jzentz March 14, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    I love music and listin to music whenever I get a chance. I agree that music can help make you feel better when you are stressed, but it can also remind you about your stressors. My roommate pointed out to me the other day that he knows what type of a mood I am in depending on what type of music I am playing on my stereo. I hadn’t even noticed it until he said something, but he was right. When I was pissed off I would play heavier upbeat rock music (ex. Break Stuff-Limp Bizkit), if I was upset I would play music that I could relate to whatever I was upset about (ex. No Giving Up-Crossfade), and I would play some fun upbeat songs when I was just in a good mood (ex. Trippin Billies-Dave Matthews Band) I did all of this without even realizing what I was doing. I guess music really is a form of expression.

  7. 8 danielledheron March 14, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    I definitely find that music helps me to unwind especially when I am having trouble clearing my head. Just having it playing lightly in the backround is enough to tame my stress and anxiety. I often find that light music helps me to keep my focus when I am studying or doing homework.

  8. 9 mdpacifico March 14, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    Music is definitely a huge stress reliever for me. And when I listen to my ipod while I work out (another big stress reliever) I can leave the gym feeling completely refreshed and stress-free. Although I usually concentrate more on the lyrics of songs then the tempo so it never really occurred to me how the tempo of certain songs really can either have a calming affect or pump you up for something. The relationship between mood and music is very interesting and it was even more interesting finding out what it is exactly about music that causes it to have such an affect on the emotions of humans.

  9. 10 Madeline Myers March 14, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    I completely agree with everything, music is my life! I turn to music when everything else fails. I can admit that I am not a huge work out fan but I definitely am a music junkie. The reason I don’t always enjoy working out is because when I am stressed I can’t help but think about everything I have to do instead of letting all the stress go, but when I listen to music I am able to relax enough to get my work done! No matter what life throws at me music is always there to relieve the stress of any situation.

  10. 11 alex truesdale March 15, 2011 at 9:45 am

    I enjoyed this blog very much and can agree completely! Whenever I am upset about something or maybe even over excited about something I always have to put my pod in and either go for a run or a drive and just blare the music. My mood definitely effects what music I am playing. If im sad I usually listen to sad songs just so that I know there are people out there who can relate. And when im excited or happy I always blare music I know all the words to so I can sing along.

  11. 12 catieeppler May 16, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    I listen to music constantly, I always have my headphones in. My music preference usually depicts my mood. Most of the time it is some genre of rock, but on occasion I spread my wings and listen to R&B or country.

    Stereomood.com is a great website for music. You pick the mood you are in or one you want to be in and it makes a special playlist for you.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


