Nighty Night

Have you ever just laid awake trying to sleep and found your self not being able to and just sitting there looking at the ceiling? Recently i have found myself doing this more frequently. My busy schedule this semester has me going all over the place. I am up by 7 a.m on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Then on Tuesdays and Thursdays I am up by 6 a.m. Many would think that i would pass out after such a long day but I have found that I have being staying up not being able to sleep being worried about the next day and what I have to do. I’m getting alomst six hours of sleep everyday and that just isn’t enough. According to a survery 26% of women report trouble sleeping atleast once a week compared to the 16% of men. I guess I’m just in that 16%
http://www.bettersleep.org/onbettersleep/stress_sleep.asp”

11 Responses to “Nighty Night”


  1. 1 Kate March 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    This happens to me all the time! Sometimes it helps me to lay in bed and let my mind wander – I think of what I did that day, what kinds of things I need to get done that week…before you know it, you will be fast asleep! Counting sheep or numbers never really did work for me. I have heard that warming up some milk or tea can make you sleepy! Also, sometimes listening to some soft music helps sooth you until your eyes begin to close..I getting tired just thinking about it! 😉

    This can be a hard problem to solve!

  2. 2 psychphil90 March 12, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I have the same problem frequently no matter how little sleep I get the night before or how busy my day is. Sometimes medicines help me but the problem there is they become less effective each time you use them. Often the biggest reason that I cannot fall asleep is thinking of what I have to do the next day. My mind is always racing and there is no possible way to sleep like that. It is no fun.

  3. 3 alilogue March 13, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    have you ever thought about listening to music or watching tv to help you fall asleep, so you dont think so much abotu that you do the next day?

  4. 4 carleymclellon March 14, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    I am also battling with this same problem this semster due to early classes. I started drinking warm milk before bed it didnt always work but it helped a little. I found that if i worked time into my schedule for me to go to the gym and work out for an hour, even if its just swimming or walking, that it had a greater effect and i started falling asleep faster.

  5. 5 thesmitty21 March 14, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Well I get up at 6 or 7 every weekday to work out. My roommate cant sleep witht he tv on, so I’m stuck there. You would think that with my early and busy days I would be able to pass out, but I just cant sleep. I have thought about using sleep aids, but I dont want to become dependent on them and can’t sleep with out them.

  6. 6 jzentz March 14, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    I sometimes have trouble falling asleep also. Whenever I begin to feel restless and can’t fall asleep, I grab my iPod and put on some music that is easy to listin to. I usually wait until I start going in and out of sleep before putting my iPod away. I usually pass right out after that. Since your roommate won’t let you put the tv on, maybe music will help.

  7. 7 eglundberg March 14, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    This happens to me all the time! I am up very early and yet have trouble going to sleep at night. I will get very tired mid-day, but then when it hits around ten to midnight, I am wide awake and cannot get to sleep. I have also found that listening to music helps me go to sleep though, so try that, or have a warm drink before going to sleep. I have heard that it calms the body, but that could be a myth!

  8. 8 maconheikes March 14, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    This happens to me as well.I ofetn have trouble sleeping after doing an assignment late at night even when i feel exausted doing the assignment. i try to listen to music especially when i am writing a paper late into the night to not stress too much. When i sleep in late i also have trouble turning on my stress response which is not good when i need it. Waking up at decent hour is important to having a productive day. On most occasion i get to sleep at a decent hour and verry rarely do i have to get up early. So i get enough sleep and feel like my stress levels are therefore balanced.

  9. 9 Madeline Myers March 14, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    I can agree that I find myself getting less sleep when I’m stressed instead of convincing myself I need sleep to be able to do all the work that lies ahead for the next day. When I am just laying in bed I always seem to overwhelm myself with even more problems than what lies ahead for the next day. I still have yet to figure out a solution to this problem.

  10. 10 tdheikens March 15, 2011 at 12:08 am

    I have especially noticed this with the approach of midterms. I will stay up nearly the entire night doing work and when I try to go to sleep early in the morning I find that I cannot sleep. That same situation actually occurred this past night. It seems that you get so worked up about trying to get something done that you cannot slow back down to speed in which you can fall asleep; at least not for some time.

  11. 11 whitneyroberts March 15, 2011 at 12:14 am

    I lay awake for hours some nights, especially if I have had an extremely good day. After a great day, I like to lay awake and think about it, replying it, and reveling in it one last time before the day is over. However, when I have a particularly bad day, I am so depressed and want to just forget about it, that I fall asleep almost instantaneously and am well rested for the next day. Because of the benefits of the next day it would seem as though bad days are great for my sleep=wake cycle and being fully rested. In contrast though what I think many of us need, is to work on techniques to fall asleep. I haven’t found something that works for me yet though except consciously trying to keep my eyes shut!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


