Go for a Run, Relieve some Stress!

Going to the gym may be seem to be inconvient for some people, as college students have incredibly hectic schedules, but research supports the idea that exercise is a great stress relief. Have you ever had a bad day, and been completely stressed out over something? I know that I have had similar experiences of being very stressed out or worried about something, but after a trip to the Brock I always feel as though a weight has been lifted off of my shoulders. The Mayo Clinic Staff says, “Being active can boost your feel-good endorphins and distract you from dailey worries.”  The video below is quite informative about how exactly exercise helps to relieve stress.
Dava Money, the speaker in the video, explains that if we exercise on a regular basis that we may reach homeostatis much quicker so that the chemicals become balanced much faster. Also, if we exercise we are removing toxins from our body, a process of natural cleansing. Excercise also helps to improve self esteem which helps us to deal with stress better, and allowing a better nights sleep.

Sources:
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/exercise-and-stress/SR00036

Video link:



5 Responses to “Go for a Run, Relieve some Stress!”


  1. 1 klew23 March 8, 2011 at 9:56 am

    I think this post is really interesting. I was unaware that exercise could increase one’s feel-good endorphins. I knew being active relieves stress but not that it actually makes you happy. This made me think about my friends, and I realized that the ones that exercise seem alot happier and less stressed than my less active friends.

  2. 2 carimalakoff March 12, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    I completely agree. When I am stressed, going to the gym definitely helps in relieving my stress and taking my mind off what is stressing me out. Even though it is hard sometimes to get the motivation to go to the gym when stressed because if I am tired and stressed out, working out is the last thing I want. However, I know that once I am done with my workout, I feel so much better and I am not stressed out as much as I was before. I feel more ready to tackle what was stressing me out, such things as studying for the exam I have tomorrow or the paper due tomorrow from getting in a time to workout.

  3. 3 Kate March 12, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    This is great to know! I love to run. I wish I had the time to do more of it! I think running – whether in the gym or going outside is a great way to relieve stress and reach homeostasis. There is something so peaceful yet rejuvenating when you can hear your tennis shoes against the pavement or treadmill. I think a workout in between big tasks during the school week is key to unraveling stress.

  4. 4 alilogue March 13, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    i honestly think that working out helps you when your stressed out. i work out about four times a week and i am usually very calm and i find it relaxing. i used to think working out was boring but if you bring a friend or just get in a routine its much better and a huge stress releaver.

  5. 5 tdheikens March 15, 2011 at 12:14 am

    I had no idea running could help stress. I definitely could go for a run right about now then. I find it interesting that exercise helps release endorphins, I have never thought about, but it really is true. Not just exercise, but just doing things that cause you to work physically can make you feel so much better.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


