Who needs sleep?

As college students our lives are consumed by varying class times, demanding work schedules, athletics, extra-curricular organizations and busy social lives. All of these activities often mean that sleep gets pushed lower on the priority list. I think it is safe to assume that most college students are not getting an adequate amount of sleep because we just don’t think there are enough hours in the day to accomplish everything we need or want to do.

 Getting to bed late because of all of our other activities is just one problem though. Another main cause of our sleep deprivation are those nights we lay in bed wide awake worrying about everything and anything, I like to call these racing thoughts. When we lay down at night it is supposed to be our time to relax not worry about next week’s presentation, the upcoming exam, or the bills we still have to pay.

Luckily, while flipping through an old magazine I found an article with some helpful hints on how to clear your mind and fall asleep successfully (This article was also available in electronic form). While the article seems geared towards women I think that it can be helpful to the men in the class as well.

http://www.cosmopolitan.com/advice/health/How-to-Fall-Asleep?click=main_sr

4 Responses to “Who needs sleep?”


  1. 1 treyh43 March 2, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    I have used to always find myself laying in bed at night with “racing thoughts.” For me personally I found that laying down and either thinking of something peaceful (for me that is the beach) or I try and relax and slow my breathing. I do believe that many people do not get the right amount of sleep, but I would ask what is the right amount of sleep? I know that many people think that 8 hours is the right amount and that means you are well rested if you get your 8 hours. But by taking some other psychology classes I have found that this may not be the case. In an experiment where people were kept in a room without windows, their sleep cycles moved to about 7 hours a night. There are also many people who only get 5 hours of sleep a night and function just fine without any problems. So for this I ask do we need to get a certain number of hours or do we need to think that we got a sufficient amount of sleep?

  2. 2 kristenlyon March 14, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    I recently went to my doctor to discuss my sleeping habits. I can hardly ever fall asleep before 3am and it takes a huge toll on my body and my mind especially the next day. He told me to stop doing activities in bed. No more reading, homework, watching tv, or cruising the internet or even texting. He attributed my sleeplessness to all of the activities. My brain is not trained into thinking my bed is for sleeping. Instead of convincing myself it is bedtime my brain is fired up thinking it’s time to do something (un)productive. I’m not entirely sure if I buy his reasoning but i’ll try anything to help myself catch more than a few hours of sleep. Moral of the story: Stop stressing in bed! It becomes a hard habit to break.

  3. 3 eglundberg March 14, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    I completely agree with this post. I have found myself laying in bed numerous times with “racing thoughts” and unable to fall asleep. Another interesting fact I have learned though, is that if you lay in bed with your computer on facebook or writing a paper, your mind thinks it’s day time due to the brightness of the computer screen making it unable for you to fall asleep. So instead of laying in bed on facebook, shut your computer and relax!

  4. 4 whitneyroberts March 15, 2011 at 12:49 am

    Danielle,

    I think you hit a very important fact, that it is not just our stressful day that is impacting our sleep, but our poor sleeping habits and techniques. I believe that it is important to learn proper sleep-hygiene because sleep is essential to every day functioning. I am going to practice as soon as I finish writing this blog, I am going to drink some cold water to cool my body down, turn the lights off, turn the TV down, and close my eyes! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


