Tips to adding energy into your day

How many times have you been slumped into the couch cushions and wished you had the energy to put on your running shorts and tennis shoes and hit the weight room? For most of us, this thought probably enters our mind at least 3 or 4 times a week. While for others, being on a sports team or involved with intramurals is the perfect way to fit exercise into your schedule and not worry about getting your daily dose of energy in.

So. For all of you couch potato’s out there who stress about your health and keeping your girlish figure – Here are some things to get us up and motivated.

1. Studies show that exercise is a great way to relieve stress (while shedding off a few extra pounds). I leave the gym feeling like i’ve accomplished something…not only have I burned off some unwanted food consumed that day, but I’ve also burned off the stress that has been floating in a bubble above my head ..just waiting to be popped.

If you hate the thought of the gym and bearing your white legs to the world, try buying a workout video that you can do from home. I live in a sorority house and we have found a workout tape for all of us to do together on week nights when we’re out of class. It’s a great way to exercise without actually leaving the comfort of our room..AND, I promise you’ll get a few laughs out of it. (TIP: avoid hip-hop videos for those of you who are incredibly uncoordinated like myself.)

2. Food wise, there are tons of different options out there to give us the energy we need to make it through the day. Here is a link with the top 10 foods that may help reduce stress:

http://www.essortment.com/10-foods-reduce-stress-16061.html

I find that having something in the morning for breakfast, whether it be a bowl of cereal or even something on-the-go like a granola bar or piece of fruit…it can really help your concentration during first period, while giving you that small dose of energy to focus.

3. Finally, I’ve also found that listening to music is a great way to free your mind while boosting your spirits! Not only will you find yourself dancing around your room or in your car, but you will be exercising without even knowing it. Every little thing helps!

2 Responses to “Tips to adding energy into your day”


  1. 1 lorenjn March 3, 2011 at 12:53 am

    Kate, I really enjoyed reading your blog! Your first point relates to my blog entry, about how exercise is a great way to relieve stress. I too agree that I always feel better when I leave the gym, and I also feel that bubble of stress has been popped. I found the website link concerning the top ten foods that may help reduce stress to be interesting and informative.

  2. 2 eglundberg March 14, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    This blog has been really interesting to read! I like the idea of the working out with friends from a work-out dvd. Have you ever tried flirty girl fitness? 😉

    I also recommend enrolling in one of the phys-ed classes. Some may be hard to get into, but they are definitely worth it! I am now in a pilates class which I love! It is not all the cardio of a workout, but definitely gives you a nice workout! So, if you’re not into running or lifting weights, try pilates because it’s the equivalent of a long workout and relieves stress at the same time! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


