One cheeseburger too many

plate size changes

Ever had that feeling that you were so hungry that you could eat just about anything and when you eat, you eat everything and not longer have that satisfying feeling anymore, instead you almost feel sick.  I was contemplating this as we talked about the movie Supersize me.  In that movie there were many instances where he would eat a meal and McDonalds and would not feel “happy.”  Can food control our emotions?  I know that there have been times when I have eaten a little too much of something (example being a McDonald’s cheeseburgers) and then immediately afterwards I wish that I had never seen a cheeseburger before in my life.  This low feeling that many people experience has been thought to come from the hormones that many companies put into their foods.  But I would also like to propose another idea to everybody.  I think that this low feeling is coming from the amount of food that we are eating.  I know that personally when I eat more than my stomach can handle, I just want to lie down and not move a muscle.  For this reason I think that we need to start looking at the amount of food we are eating and what is causing us to eat so much.  Many of the restaurants that we go to do not give us one single serving of food, they in fact give us multiple servings. I feel that this is due to the fact that the plates we eat on have grown. We do not like to see empty space and what has happened is that as plates have grown so have the amount of food that we eat.  I feel that this is one of the reasons behind the rise of obesity in our country, portion control.  If we started to look at the portions we are eating and controlled the portions our children are eating I think that we could attempt to halt the rise of obesity in our country.  What do you think??

6 Responses to “One cheeseburger too many”


  1. 1 mwillsey March 2, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I definately agree with the idea that we eat too much during some meal times and that causes us to feel like we don’t want to move at all. I also think that part of it is that we feel bad for having eaten so much and feel guilty as well as stuffed. After we have eaten all of this food, we just think of all the calories we just ate and how long we are going to have to be at the gym later in the day to work it all off again. Furthermore, some of us have grown up with the idea that we need to finish what is on our plates. Normally this idea has been given to us by our parents who say that there are starving people in the world and that if we served ourselves so much food, that we need to eat it all as a reminder to not serve ourselves so much in the future. Since we grew up with that idea, every time we go out to eat, we think not only about how good it tastes, especially fresh and warm, but also the idea that we should eat what has been put in front of us.
    In a way, I almost love the fact that restraunts serve so many portions however, bucause I for one don’t mind rewarmind up food to eat it the next day or just pulling something out of the fridge that I took home with me from earlier in the day. Cold pizza anyone?

  2. 2 carleymclellon March 14, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    I agree as well, if we could manage the portions sizes then maybe obesity wouldnt be such a rizing health problem in our society, expecially in kids.

  3. 3 jzentz March 14, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    The food-coma feeling that you expressed is a awful feeling after a meal. It hits you as soon as you finish your over-sized meal, and you can’t stand to look at food. The food channel immediately becomes the worst channel on television when experiencing this low feeling. Our eyes are sometimes larger than our stomach. Restaurants do not help us avoid this, but instead they bring us a meal with a searving size that would feed a small family. For example, whenever you get pasta at a restaurant, more times than not that pasta ends up in a box in your refrigerator later that night.

  4. 4 mdpacifico March 14, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    I noticed the same thing when completing one of the food projects for this class. When checking the serving sizes of most foods on the nutrition chart the calorie count may seem low, but then when you look at the serving size per a container you realize that the nutrition count only accounts for 15 chips. So although the front of the bag may advertise only 100 calories per a serving the chances of you eating only one serving size with out counting out individual chips is not very likely. This really got me paying attention to the amount of food I eat and the importance of looking at other factors like the serving size when I keep track of the nutritional values of the foods I eat day to day. I also recently was looking at Dr. Campbell’s China Study. In this study he links chronic diseases that exist today to animal products. It was originally taught to us the protein should make up the largest portion on our plates in order to maintain a healthy diet, however in the China study Dr. Campbell finds that “People who ate the most animal-based foods got the most chronic disease … People who ate the most plant-based foods were the healthiest and tended to avoid chronic disease.”

    http://www.thechinastudy.com/

  5. 5 eglundberg March 14, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    I know this feeling all too well.. anyone also familiar with the Chipotle “food-coma?” Not only does McDonald’s give you that terrible feeling, but think of all the food wrapped up in a burrito.. indigestion. I find it very interesting how the plates have gotten larger and it is true that we don’t want to leave empty space on our plates.

    Growing up I know that I was always taught to clear my plate before I could leave the table. Now with the plates being larger and portion sizes also being larger it’s hard to abide by that rule without my stomach telling me to stop. Some people don’t listen, thus a possible explanation for the rapid increase in weight gain in our society.

    I was searching online for “then-and-now” portions, but came across this neat quiz. Maybe it will help you avoid the traumatic feeling of “food-coma” now!

    http://drsimpson.net/weight-loss/Lap-band-tests/portion-size/Lap-band-portion-size.htm

  6. 6 whitneyroberts March 15, 2011 at 12:25 am

    Trey,

    I completely agree. It is not wholly the foods we are eating but the amount. My mother always stresses “everything in moderation”. I feel that a lot of the time, because we see so much food in front of us, we have the innate desire to eat it all up, instead of really thinking about the fact that we can bag it up and take it home. Portions have grown tremendously and what is considered a serving for one can often serve two (or in my case, I pack it up and take it home to eat later or the next day). I feel as though we need to educate the country on not only healthy meal choices but also portion control… One cookie for dessert once a day is quite okay to satisfy that craving for sweets, but having several cookies each day is taking it “way out of proportion” and that is where the problem lies!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


