Lacrosse Stress

Through sports is one way for some one to relieve their stress, and others are going for long jogs, reading, or writing in their blog. People like me use sports to divert their stress. Personally I use lacrosse to deal with the daily stress that is put onto my body. When using sports to divert your stress you need to remember how to contain your emotions sometimes. Yesterday during lacrosse practice I had a rough day, due to pop quizzes and reciting a speech. During practice I let my emotions get the best of me and play a vital role in the game of lacrosse. When playing my teammate Joseph Liberto was carrying the ball up the field. When he was carrying the ball I released my anger and hit him with my stick as hard as I possibly could, and then hit him with my body. Thankfully Joseph was not injured in any way. After practice I apologized to Joseph as any person should do. He thankfully accepted my apology. 

Like many sports, lacrosse is a physical game, and when people become frustrated this game can turn violent. A lacrosse stick can be viewed as a weapon. From this experience I learned how to control my emotions properly.

2 Responses to “Lacrosse Stress”


  1. 1 treyh43 March 2, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I understand where you are coming from by using sports to help you release your emotions and relieve stress. I personally used football for my four years here at Randolph Macon to do that. Now lacrosse and football are two different sports, but I have found that when playing football you have to control your emotions because the second you just focus on your emotions that is the second that your technique is wrong and either you do not make the play or your get hurt. I will also say that now that I am no longer playing I have had to find other ways to help with stress. The main way for me to relieve stress is to go workout. I have found working out to be my outlet eventhough there are many other ways to help with stress.

    • 2 David Lynch March 15, 2011 at 11:47 am

      I’ll have to agree with you on this one, I enjoy a variety of sports at macon ranging from varsity to intramural, and often times a stressful day can have immense effects on one’s style of play. If I have had a stressful day in classes and am out on the field, often times I find myself wanting to be more agressive and physical on the field. I think in some cases the funneling of stress onto the field can be quite effective such as in a game against tough oponnents, rather than against a teammate in practice. Learning to control your frustrations and allocate them properly can be vital to success.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


