Color Combination Therapy and Emotions

The idea started as I was thinking about how when we get mad, we envision a calm scene such as mountains or a serene lake to relax ourselves. From there, that made me think about our reactions to different colors. Blue, such as in the calming lake scene, is usually a very relaxing color. Other brighter colors, like red or orange are usually associated with anger or fire. Since it is finally becoming spring and the weather is warmer, I also thought about how people get depressed and feel cooped up during the winter. This is because there is very little color in the world around us and everything seems grey and drab. So, when I found this website: http://www.therapycolor.com/ I got really interested in the idea that, “When disease or injury disturbs the vibration and energy of an organ or area of our body, applying the associated color frequency can restore the body to health”. It continues to say that the different colors produce different hormones which are secreted throughout our bodies. So, I suppose the next time someone is feeling sad, give them something red, orange, yellow or pink to cheer them up. It makes sense that we associate different colors with different moods and use different hormones when we see these colors, but the idea that we can actually use the different colors for therapy or to help autism and dyslexia is something new to me.

(the links on lake and color are the pictures)

3 Responses to “Color Combination Therapy and Emotions”


  1. 1 french111 March 2, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    That’s awesome. It also reminded me of something of were McDonalds is yellow on the inside because the color yellow is related with hunger so people will eat more. So could yellow be the color that affects the GI tract? There are tons of reasons different colors are used in various places because of how they are percieved by us. Another example would be that doctors were white because it represents sterility and cleanliness. For a larger list visit this web site

    • 2 mwillsey March 7, 2011 at 11:59 am

      Yeha I hadn’t even thought about the inside of McDonalds wrappers being yellow for that reason. I thought that was pretty interesting.

  2. 3 carimalakoff March 2, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    I do think the different colors can have an affect on our mood and emotions. For me, when it is very dim or dark in a room, I begin to feel very tired and sluggish. However, in a bright room with good lighting, I feel more awake. Also, I have learned since I was little that yellow is typically a “happy” color perhaps because I have always associated yellow with a smiley face. However, whenever I have seen “red,” I have always associated it with anger or someone being mad. I found this website provided very interesting, and knowing that different colors create different hormones throughout our bodies.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


