Stress in College

    As I started to look for things to blog about I found these two articles that I think will benefit all of us students.  One is on the causes of stress in college and the other is how to reduce that stress.  All the examples of how to relieve the stress seem a lot easier said than done.  I know that, personally, I have said that I would do all of these things, but I never seem to follow through 100%.  However, with all the information we are learning in the class I think I will take these recommendations more seriously.  I don’t want stress to be the cause of ulcers or heart disease when I am older.

http://stress.about.com/od/studentstress/a/stress_college.htm

http://stress.about.com/od/studentstress/ss/college_stress.htm

3 Responses to “Stress in College”


  1. 1 Cari Malakoff March 1, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    I found these two articles very interesting. In terms of the efirst article, “Stress in College: Common Causes of Stress in College,” I can relate in terms of the “Regular Old Academic Stress” section. While I feel my high school did prepare me for college and in a sense, I feel I actually had more work in high school, I had a lot more papers to write in college than I ever did in high school. I had to adjust to writing two or so papers a week intsead of what I was used to (several quizzes or tests a week). Also, I had to adjust to the time of classes in which I was used to having only 45 minutes of each class; when I was a freshman, I had 2 hour classes and 1 1/2 hour classes I had to adjust getting used to.

    The second article, “College LIfe-How to Reduce Stress in College Life” was also very interesting in which the examples they gave could greatly help me when I feel stressed. I believe that creating a space, in which I have started to do recently in which I go to a certain table that is a quiet area in my apartment in which I am able to do work and focus that allows me to not have noises or distractions around me that causes me to have less stress. However, I do need to work on getting more sleep. I find that I sometimes do not get the 8 hours of sleep and leaves me feeling tired and hard to concentrate sometimes in the morning when I need to get up to go to class. I think that by trying to stick more to relieve stress, I will be able to feel less stressed and tired.

  2. 2 Alex Truesdale March 1, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    I also found these articles very interesting. I know for me, my first semester of college was the most stressful thing I had ever encountered. I remember every single time I called my mom to cry about a professor and how I thought grading and work was unfair, when really I was just getting acclimated to the new settings of the next four years of my life. As of the social stresses, I think a lot of that is in the hands of the person and can be easily avoided. When people first come to college, everyone is in the same boat; they do not know anyone and they are extremely open to meeting new people and trying to get a friend before lunch time. As long as people learn to be social and not awkward, I think that this kind of stress can be eliminated tremendously.

  3. 3 Laura March 1, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Thanks for sharing the article on “College Life – How To Reduce Stress in College Life”! The suggestions are easy to remember so hopefully I can keep them in mind more often: 1: Get organized; 2: Regular exercise; 3: Take care of your body; and 4: Find support. I’m a very organized person and sometimes I get so focused on my organization that it takes time away from taking care what I need to do. Also because I have so many things going on as a senior (graduate assistantship interviews for the graduate program I’ll be attending in this fall) it very easy for me to sit for a while and look at my agenda because every week is full of different events, which brings lots of psychological stress and I end up feeling overwhelmed. This has been a bit draining because I know I have so many things to do that it’s just frustrating when I don’t have much time left in my schedule to exercise (or do relaxing activities) or if I do have a little bit of time, I’m exhausted by then. I feel that college is a very challenging time as a freshman to senior; so with all the demands during this important stage in everyone’s life we definitely need to work on prioritizing and focusing on those as we go along the journey of life.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


