Is technology making our lives easier or more stressful?

While determining how I personally spend each hour in my week I included the time I spend on my computer doing things other than homework, such as Facebook, under the category of relaxation. This got me thinking I seem to spend an awful lot of time on Facebook, texting, Skyping friends, and listening to music or watching movies on my computer, time that I see as qualifying as relaxation, but is the time I spend on my computer really helping me relax or has technology just become another added stressor in my life?

I personally find myself logging on to Facebook at the worst possible times; late at night when I should be sleeping or while I’m studying for a big exam in the library or attempting to write a five page paper due the next day. Facebook seems to be a stress free engagement when compared to the stressful tasks at hand. However, having the option of Facebooking or tweeting while I should be studying or sleeping in reality adds more stress to my life rather than less. Temporally logging on to Facebook does not help me become less stressed by coming closer to my goal of finishing my paper or preparing for an exam, instead Facebook is a time sucker which in the end adds more stress to my life. The more and more time I spend on Facebook the less time I have to stop stressing about my school work that I have yet to complete. Facebook can also be a stressful experience just by logging on. Say you sign into Facebook and there is a inappropriate picture someone put up of you from the previous weekend and you worry that your mom may have seen it before you got the chance to de-tag. Or if you are constantly stressing over what your ex-boyfriend’s next status updates going to be. In her blog entry entitled Is There Such Thing as Facebook Stress Syndrome?, blogger Lisa Ponte Fazio compares managing her Facebook page to a part-time job. Does this mean that having a Facebook comes with the same number of stressors as having a job?

http://coryhall.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/facebook_stress.gif?w=600&h=399

Facebook is not the only form of technology adding stress to our lives, with texting especially there is always the added stress of being in constant contact with other people, the pressure to respond to a text message right away or waiting for someone else to respond to you. Not to mention the acute psychological stress that can arise from the embarrassment of your cell phone going off in class. So although the thought of having my cell phone with me at times may seem to offer some comfort in knowing that I can easily connect to the rest of the world is the stress that comes with owning a cell phone worth it? Drascus makes a good point on how technology could be adding more stress to our lives on his blog entry entitled Does technology add Unneeded Stress to our Lives?, when he states that among young people there is also the added stress that comes with the pressures of being the first to own the newest form of technology. So although technology such as cell phones and personal computers may first appear to be important tools in the stress relief process when examined closely enough our smart phones and laptops may just be complicating our lives with unneeded stress.

4 Responses to “Is technology making our lives easier or more stressful?”


  1. 1 eglundberg March 1, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Michelle, I agree completely. Facebook, texting and other technological distractions are simply stressors to our lives. I have been involved in more fights on facebook and texting than in person ever since they have become popular. Many times I have thought about deleting my facebook or just turning off my phone, but in this day and age without either of those you’re “out of the loop” and have trouble keeping up with what is going on with everyone. Facebook is a wonderful way to keep in touch with people, but is it really worth the extra stress that is caused through this technology?

  2. 2 catieeppler March 1, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    Texing, and technology in general definitely adds stress to everyday life. I know that when I am texting someone I look at my phone more often than I should, especially when I am waiting for an important response. Those few seconds could be used to do something productive.

  3. 3 alilogue March 13, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    i think its more stressful because one its taking away your time from getting other things done that are more important..and plus everyone can see everything you put out there and causes more and more drama.. the true question is, is it really worth it to use technology so much…

  4. 4 David Lynch March 15, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    I agree with all of the above, I do think that the Facebook fad has brought about an increased amount of Drama and stress because it is so much easier to “confront” someone via wall post than face to face. I think this causes people to say what is on their mind regardless of how insignificant it may be. Posts may also be misinterpreted, leading to much more drama than is necessary. So, I think facebook may cause a lot of unnecessary drama (and the stress that comes with it), but is a great way to keep in touch with friends that aren’t close. I know facebook helps me to keep in touch with friends in Maine, Florida, and some that are spending time abroad for the semester.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Authors


